To the power of three

Laura Lippman, 1959-

Book - 2005

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Lippman, Laura
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Lippman, Laura Checked In
Subjects
Published
New York : Morrow c2005.
Edition
1st ed
Language
English
Physical Description
434 p.
ISBN
9780062205803
0060506725
Main Author
Laura Lippman, 1959- (-)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Lippman has won just about every mystery award out there: the Anthony, Edgar, Shamus, Agatha, and Nero. Her latest, a stand-alone mystery, is somewhat disappointing. The suspense is watered down considerably by the novel's unnecessary length of more than 400 pages. And the story, dependent for much of its punch on forensic evidence, is woefully inaccurate about evidence collection and preservation; for example, blood at the scene of the crime is stored in plastic bags, a serious error that would allow micro-organisms to destroy any DNA evidence. This is a long, long exploration of a school shooting that affects three girls found in a bathroom. One is dead, one critically injured, and one minimally wounded and uncooperative with police. The homicide sergeant investigating the case delves into the world of high-school rivalries to come up with a motive, and the book derails from mystery into pop sociology. For Lippman fans only. ((Reviewed May 1, 2005)) Copyright 2005 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

A locked high school toilet reveals three shot girls, a story that doesn't pan out, and clues of a fourth witness in this "realistic" crime thriller. Lippman lives in Baltimore and recently received the city's first Mayor's Prize for Literary Excellence. With a ten-city tour. Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

When the friendship among three teenaged girls implodes, leaving one dead and one critically injured, the police have to sort through the pack of lies the third is sending their way. With a ten-city tour. Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Kat, Josie, and Perri have been best friends since childhood, so everyone at their high school is shocked when they are involved in an early-morning shooting in the girls' restroom. One is left dead, another is in critical condition, and the third is telling a tale inconsistent with the evidence. Detective Harold Lenhardt thinks this should be an open-and-shut case-until he tries to figure out what dark secret was powerful enough to jeopardize the girls' loyalty to one other and to what lengths the remaining girl will go to keep the truth hidden. In swift prose, Lippman (By a Spider's Thread) builds believable characters and palpable suspense. With flashbacks and a shifting perspective revealing layer after layer of deceit and manipulation, however, the conclusion feels a little anticlimactic. Still, fans of suspense fiction won't be disappointed with this solid addition to the genre. Suitable for all public libraries. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 3/15/05.]-Amy Brozio-Andrews, Albany P.L., NY Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Baltimore County homicide sergeant Harold Lenhardt faces a baffling case involving three former high school friends, including one who is comatose from a self-inflicted gunshot wound, and another who continuously changes her story.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"Powerful'.A gripping tale that is a mystery only in the same sense as To Kill a Mockingbird was'.Brilliant, insightful, moving.""Chicago Sun-TimesThere are excellent reasons why New York Times bestselling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippman's brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this 'writing powerhouse' (USA Today), who has 'exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time' (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippman's novel is one that will not be easily forgotten'a must read for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben

Review by Publisher Summary 3

“Powerful….A gripping tale that is a mystery only in the same sense as To Kill a Mockingbird was….Brilliant, insightful, moving.”—Chicago Sun-TimesThere are excellent reasons why New York Times bestselling author Laura Lippman has won the Edgar®, Agatha, Anthony, Nero Wolfe, and every other major award the mystery genre has to offer. To the Power of Three is just one of those reasons. Lippman’s brilliant and disturbing tale of three inseparable high school girlfriends in an affluent Baltimore suburb who share dark secrets literally until death, To the Power of Three is this “writing powerhouse” (USA Today), who has “exploded the boundaries of the mystery genre to become one of the most significant social realists of our time” (Madison Smartt Bell) operating at the very top of her game. Not merely crime fiction, but fiction that gets to the deep psychological, emotional, and human roots of a terrible crime, Lippman’s novel is one that will not be easily forgotten—a must read for fans of Kate Atkinson, Tana French, Jodi Picoult, and Harlan Coben