The complete stories of Truman Capote

Truman Capote, 1924-1984

Book - 2004

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Capote, Truman
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Capote, Truman Checked In
New York : Random House 2004.
Modern Library ed. 1st ed
Physical Description
300 p.
Main Author
Truman Capote, 1924-1984 (-)
Other Authors
Reynolds Price, 1933-2011 (-)
  • The walls are cold
  • A mink of one's own
  • The shape of things
  • Jug of silver
  • Miriam
  • My side of the matter
  • Preacher's legend - A tree of night
  • The headless hawk
  • Shut a final door
  • Children on their birthdays
  • Master misery
  • The bargain
  • A diamond guitar
  • House of flowers
  • A Christmas memory
  • Among the paths to Eden
  • The Thanksgiving visitor
  • Mojave
  • One Christmas.
Review by Booklist Reviews

/*Starred Review*/ The common perception of Capote (who died in 1984) is that he had a brilliant early beginning to a career that eventually fizzled out in drug use and soured celebrity. His "new nonfiction" book, In Cold Blood (1966), the true story of a Kansas murder told with great fictional technique and elan, is generally regarded as his finest achievement. But now, for the first time, all of Capote's short stories are being published together, an event that signifies a renewed appreciation of his overall contribution to literature, for evidence is presented in this one volume that he should be ranked as a major American short story writer. By instinct, he produced the amalgam of fact and fiction that became In Cold Blood; similarly but contrarily, by instinct he wrote short stories always intent on maintaining the form's integrity as distinct from the novel. Most of Capote's short story work was concentrated in the early years of his career, the 1940s, but his capacity for writing deeply thought-out, deeply felt stories continued into the 1980s, from the first story in the collection, "The Walls Are Cold," a short, entertaining piece about a young, flirtatious socialite, to the last story, "One Christmas," set in the Alabama and New Orleans of his boyhood, a story conjured from the heart--but free of overripe sentiment--about learning the differences in how people love. Both a broadening of theme and deepening in treatment are observable when the stories in the collection are read in order; all of them are linked by a shimmering, but never showy, eloquence and sensitive observation of the personal environments his characters inhabit, both psychological and physical. ((Reviewed September 1, 2004)) Copyright 2004 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A definitive compendium of all the short fiction of the acclaimed author of In Cold Blood and Breakfast at Tiffany's includes such famed pieces as "Children on Their Birthdays" and "A Christmas Memory," as well as such lesser-known tales as "Master Misery" and "Jug of Silver." Reprint. 25,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A compendium of all the short fiction of Truman Capote includes such pieces as "Children on Their Birthdays" and "A Christmas Memory," as well as such lesser-known tales as "Master Misery" and "Jug of Silver."

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A landmark collection that brings together Truman Capote’s life’s work in the form he called his “great love,” The Complete Stories confirms Capote’s status as a master of the short story. Ranging from the gothic South to the chic East Coast, from rural children to aging urban sophisticates, all the unforgettable places and people of Capote’s oeuvre are here, in stories as elegant as they are heartfelt, as haunting as they are compassionate. Reading them reminds us of the miraculous gifts of a beloved American original.