Biscuit's big friend

Alyssa Satin Capucilli, 1957-

Book - 2003

Biscuit, a little puppy, and Sam, a big dog, play together despite their difference in size.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jREADER/Capucilli, Alyssa Satin
1 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jREADER/Capucilli, Alyssa Satin Due Jun 4, 2022
Children's Room jREADER/Capucilli, Alyssa Satin Checked In
Series
My first I can read book
My first shared reading
My first I can read book
I can read book. My first shared reading
Subjects
Genres
Readers (Publications)
Published
New York : HarperCollins 2003.
Language
English
Physical Description
25 p. : ill
ISBN
9780060291679
144208880X
0060291680
Main Author
Alyssa Satin Capucilli, 1957- (-)
Other Authors
Pat Schories (illustrator)
Review by Booklist Reviews

PreS-K. This My First I Can Read Book about a popular puppy character comprises one-syllable words, most of which are among those children first learn when beginning to read: run, dog, big, etc. But even without recognizing all the words, children can easily follow the story through the clear, unfussy pictures that spell out each action, including the sweet, upbeat conclusion, which puts Biscuit in the spotlight. The plot, which follows little Biscuit as he tries to do everything his big friend, Sam, does, may even strike a few little ones as a bit familiar, especially if they have older sibs. ((Reviewed July 2003)) Copyright 2003 Booklist Reviews

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Biscuit, a little puppy, and Sam, a big dog, play together despite their difference in size.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Biscuit’s new friend, Sam the dog, can do a lot of great things, like run fast and fetch big sticks, and Biscuit wants to prove that he can do the same, in an adorable tale about friendly competition and one determined little puppy.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

For fans of Clifford and Spot, welcome everybody’s favorite little yellow puppy, Biscuit, in an I Can Read adventure!Ruff! Sam is a big dog and Biscuit's newest friend. Biscuit wants to do everything that Sam does -- like running fast and fetching sticks. But it sure is hard for a puppy like Biscuit to keep up with such a big dog.In this encouraging story of friendship, Biscuit shows that small puppies can do big things! Biscuit’s Big Friend, a My First I Can Read book, is carefully crafted using basic language, word repetition, sight words, and sweet illustrations—which means it's perfect for shared reading with emergent readers. 

Review by Publisher Summary 4

For fans of Clifford and Spot, welcome everybody's favorite little yellow puppy, Biscuit, in an I Can Read adventure!Ruff! Sam is a big dog and Biscuit's newest friend. Biscuit wants to do everything that Sam does -- like running fast and fetching sticks. But it sure is hard for a puppy like Biscuit to keep up with such a big dog.In this encouraging story of friendship, Biscuit shows that small puppies can do big things! Biscuit's Big Friend, a My First I Can Read book, is carefully crafted using basic language, word repetition, sight words, and sweet illustrations'which means it's perfect for shared reading with emergent readers.