1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Robinson, Peter
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Robinson, Peter Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Robinson, Peter Checked In
Subjects
Published
New York : Scribner c1988.
Language
English
Item Description
Published in paperback (with different pagination) by Avon in 1992.
"An Inspector Banks mystery."
Physical Description
261 p. ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780062416605
9780380716456
0684192659
Main Author
Peter Robinson, 1950- (-)
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Detective chief inspector Alan Banks investigates the death of a well-to-do archeologist, while author Robinson vividly evokes English village life. (Aug.) Copyright 1992 Cahners Business Information.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson delivers a compelling and chilling story of evil in the most unexpected places—perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Ian Rankin.

A dedicated man is dead in the wild outdoors—a former university professor, wealthy historian and archaeologist who loved his adopted village. It is a particularly heinous slaying, considering the esteem in which the victim, Harry Steadman, was held by his neighbors and colleagues—by everyone, it seems, except the one person who bludgeoned the life out of the respected scholar and left him half-buried in a farmer's field.

Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks left the violence of London behind for what he hoped would be the peaceful life of a country policeman. But the brutality of Steadman's murder only reinforces one ugly, indisputable truth: Evil can flourish in even the most beautiful of settings. There are dangerous secrets hidden in the history of this remote community that have already led to one death. And Banks will have to plumb a dark and shocking local past to find his way to a killer before yesterday's sins cause more blood to be shed.

A Dedicated Man is a riveting, fascinating, and thoroughly thrilling novel of suspense.