Teddy vs. the fuzzy doom

Braden Hallett

Book - 2024

"The secrets of Ravensbarrow have been buried far too long. Now they're waking up . . . For fans of My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish and The Incredibly Dead Pets of Rex Dexter, a laugh-out-loud new series that kicks off in a school infested with brain-eating hamsters. Book 1: Teddy vs. the Fuzzy Doom. Starting at a new school is hard enough for an anxious kid like Teddy. But Ravensbarrow Elementary seems extra unsettling. First, there are the zombielike kids and teachers, with their vacant stares and strange, echoey voices. Then there are the hamsters. So. Many. Hamsters. With their scrabbly claws and beady eyes and . . . wait. Can those hamsters talk? Teddy must face old fears (making friends) and new ones (evil hamsters!) in this frig...htening and fast-paced, hilarious, and heartfelt debut. About the Series: Alongside a crew of misfits, Teddy untangles the supernatural mysteries of the rainy town of Ravensbarrow in this highly illustrated, action-packed new horror comedy series."--

Saved in:

Children's Room New Shelf Show me where

jFICTION/Hallett Braden
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room New Shelf jFICTION/Hallett Braden (NEW SHELF) Checked In
Children's Room New Shelf jFICTION/Hallett Braden (NEW SHELF) Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Illustrated works
Novels
Humorous fiction
Horror fiction
Romans
Published
Toronto ; Berkeley : Annick Press [2024]
Language
English
Main Author
Braden Hallett (author)
Physical Description
267 pages : illustrations, map ; 23 cm
Issued also in electronic formats
ISBN
9781773218557
9781773218564
Contents unavailable.
Review by Kirkus Book Review

An eruption of evil hamsters at school throws up gut-wrenching challenges for new student Teddy Tyler-Meier in this series opener. Formerly known to all as "Pukey Bear" after chronic anxiety issues caused him to vomit onstage before his entire school, Teddy hopes to make a fresh start at Ravensbarrow Elementary, deep in the Canadian pine woods. But his arrival coincides with that of a horde of hamsters with the terrifying power to turn everyone into mind-controlled zombie puppets. As it turns out, being doused in milk can turn them back into cute, harmless rodents--but, alas, even a slight taste or mention of the revolting stuff gives Teddy monumental heaves. Fortunately, Teddy finds ready allies in a remedial class of, as he puts it, "oddly inclusive weirdos," including blue-haired Tienna, who has "impulse control" issues, and Shane, who insists that he "can read, just slowly." Unfortunately, the invading hamsters turn out to be crafty as well as evil, and when push comes to shove, there's only one way to stop them--or as Tienna repeatedly puts it, "Sometimes you've just gotta drink the milk!" Hallett floods the pages with monochrome views of pop-eyed, comically terrified students, menacingly toothy hamsters, and glassy-eyed victims; the results of Teddy's frequent upheavals are, happily, confined to soggy puddles and outsized sound effects. Teddy reads white; supporting characters present as racially diverse. Buckets of fun and spooky doings. (Comic horror. 8-11) Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.