The mistletoe matchmaker

Felicity Hayes-McCoy

eBook - 2019

Beloved author Felicity Hayes-McCoy returns with an enchanting, cozy new novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Nina George, and Nancy Thayer-It's Christmas in Ireland, and when Cassie Fitzgerald arrives from Toronto to visit her grandparents, she learns that it's never too late to come home. The days are turning colder, preparations are under way for the Winter Fest, and everyone is hoping for a little holiday magic on the Finfarran peninsula. And as Cassie Fitzgerald, fresh from T...oronto, is about to discover, there's more to the holidays on the west coast of Ireland than mistletoe and mince pies. Enchanted by the small town where her dad was born, Cassie makes friends and joins local librarian Hanna Casey's writing group in Lissbeg Library. But the more she's drawn into the festivities leading up to her first Irish Christmas, the more questions she wants to ask. Why does her sweet-tempered grandmother Pat find it so hard to express her feelings? What's going on between Pat and her miserly husband Ger? What happened in the past between the Fitzgeralds and Hanna's redoubtable mother Mary Casey? And what about Shay: handsome, funny, smart, and intent on making Cassie's stay as exciting as he can. Could he be the one for her? As Christmas Eve approaches, its Cassie, the outsider, who reminds Lissbeg's locals that love, family, and friendship bring true magic to the season. But will her own, fractured family rediscover the joys of coming home?

Saved in:
Series
Hayes-McCoy, Felicity. Finfarran Peninsula. 3.
Subjects
Online Access
Instantly available on hoopla.
Cover image
Published
[United States] : HarperCollins Publishers 2019.
Language
English
Physical Description
1 online resource
Format
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
ISBN
9780062799074
006279907X
Access
AVAILABLE FOR USE ONLY BY IOWA CITY AND RESIDENTS OF THE CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS OF JOHNSON COUNTY, UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS, HILLS, AND LONE TREE (IA).
Main Author
Felicity Hayes-McCoy (author)
Corporate Author
hoopla digital (-)
Review by Booklist Reviews

The latest novel in Hayes-McCoy series set on Ireland's Finfarran Peninsula, following Summer at the Garden Cafe (2018), has a cozy Christmastime plot. Cassie, the granddaughter of Pat and Ger, was raised in Canada where her father emigrated. An adventurous youngest child who travels the world as a cruise hairdresser, Cassie impulsively decides to visit her father's birthplace, Lissbeg, as the village prepares for the annual Christmas festival. The new community collective on the former convent grounds provides an idyllic gathering place and a home for local businesses. Beyond the charming façade, there's also some drama, and Cassie finds herself getting mixed up in the residents' lives and relationships. She also tries to understand the history that has kept her father from returning to his homeland. In addition to the sweet family-centered holiday story, readers will be happy to catch up with Hanna and the library, her daughter, Jazz, and other characters and places from the author's previous novels. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Cassie, the youngest daughter of Sonny and Annette Fitzgerald, is the only family member without the drive for extreme success. As a teen, Cassie knew she wanted to travel, so she trained as a hairstylist so she could work anywhere. Inspired by her grandparents' visit from Lissbeg, Ireland, Cassie decides she'd like to see where her dad was raised and returns with Pat and Ger Fitzgerald. It's everything she could have hoped for and harder than she expected, but maybe the upcoming Winter Fest will be just the thing to bring holiday cheer to this small town and the people she's grown to cherish. VERDICT Readers will wish they could take part in the highs and lows of Finfarran Peninsula community life. Hayes-McCoy's quiet story of tight-knit relationships among family members and longtime friends will soothe readers' frazzled nerves. The expressions of respect and admiration, even when delivered grudgingly, are in tune with the holiday season. [See Prepub Alert, 4/8/19.] Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

While visiting her grandparents on the west coast of Ireland for the holidays, Toronto native Cassie Fitzgerald, while trying to repair her fractured family, reminds everyone around her that love, family and friendship bring true magic to the season. Original.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"The days are turning colder, preparations are under way for the Winter Fest, and everyone is hoping for a little holiday magic on the Finfarran peninsula. And as Cassie Fitzgerald, fresh from Toronto, is about to discover, there's more to the holidays on the west coast of Ireland than mistletoe and mince pies. Enchanted by the small town where her dad was born, Cassie makes friends and joins local librarian Hanna Casey's writing group in Lissbeg Library. But the more she's drawn into the festivities leading up to her first Irish Christmas, the more questions she wants to ask. Why does her sweet-tempered grandmother Pat find it so hard to express her feelings? What's going on between Pat and her miserly husband Ger? What happened in the past between the Fitzgeralds and Hanna's redoubtable mother Mary Casey? And what about Shay: handsome, funny, smart, and intent on making Cassie's stay as exciting as he can. Could he be the one for her? As Christmas Eve approaches, it's Cassie, the outsider, who reminds Lissbeg's locals that love, family, and friendship bring true magic to the season. But will her own, fractured family rediscover the joys of coming home?" --

Review by Publisher Summary 3

“The perfect winter heart-warmer.”—Cathy Kelly, bestselling author of Between Sisters and Secrets of a Happy MarriageFrom beloved author Felicity Hayes-McCoy, an enchanting, cozy novel perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Nina George, and Nancy Thayer. It’s Christmas in Ireland, and when Cassie Fitzgerald arrives from Toronto to visit her grandparents, she learns that it’s never too late to come home.The days are turning colder, preparations are under way for the Winter Fest, and everyone is hoping for a little holiday magic on the Finfarran peninsula. And as Cassie Fitzgerald, fresh from Toronto, is about to discover, there’s more to the holidays on the west coast of Ireland than mistletoe and mince pies.Enchanted by the small town where her dad was born, Cassie makes friends and joins local librarian Hanna Casey’s writing group in Lissbeg Library. But the more she’s drawn into the festivities leading up to her first Irish Christmas, the more questions she wants to ask.Why does her sweet-tempered grandmother Pat find it so hard to express her feelings? What’s going on between Pat and her miserly husband Ger? What happened in the past between the Fitzgeralds and Hanna’s redoubtable mother Mary Casey? And what about Shay: handsome, funny, smart, and intent on making Cassie’s stay as exciting as he can. Could he be the one for her?As Christmas Eve approaches, it’s Cassie, the outsider, who reminds Lissbeg’s locals that love, family, and friendship bring true magic to the season. But will her own, fractured family rediscover the joys of coming home?

Review by Publisher Summary 4

“The perfect winter heart-warmer.”—Cathy Kelly, bestselling author of Between Sisters and Secrets of a Happy MarriageBeloved author Felicity Hayes-McCoy returns with an enchanting, cozy new novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Nina George, and Nancy Thayer—It’s Christmas in Ireland, and when Cassie Fitzgerald arrives from Toronto to visit her grandparents, she learns that it’s never too late to come home.The days are turning colder, preparations are under way for the Winter Fest, and everyone is hoping for a little holiday magic on the Finfarran peninsula. And as Cassie Fitzgerald, fresh from Toronto, is about to discover, there’s more to the holidays on the west coast of Ireland than mistletoe and mince pies.Enchanted by the small town where her dad was born, Cassie makes friends and joins local librarian Hanna Casey’s writing group in Lissbeg Library. But the more she’s drawn into the festivities leading up to her first Irish Christmas, the more questions she wants to ask. Why does her sweet-tempered grandmother Pat find it so hard to express her feelings? What’s going on between Pat and her miserly husband Ger? What happened in the past between the Fitzgeralds and Hanna’s redoubtable mother Mary Casey? And what about Shay: handsome, funny, smart, and intent on making Cassie’s stay as exciting as he can. Could he be the one for her?As Christmas Eve approaches, it’s Cassie, the outsider, who reminds Lissbeg’s locals that love, family, and friendship bring true magic to the season. But will her own, fractured family rediscover the joys of coming home?