The French Baker's War

Michael Whatling

eBook - 2021

ABSENCE ISN'T A HOLE. IT'S A PRESENCE LIVING INSIDE YOU, EATING ITS WAY OUT. Occupied France, 1943. Returning home from the daily hunt for the rationed ingredients necessary to keep his family pâtisserie open, André Albert finds his four-year-old son in the street, his wife gone, and an emaciated Jewish woman cowering behind the display case. Without Mireille, the foundation of André's world crumbles. He desperately searches for her, but finds more trouble than answers. Lives a...re further jeopardized, when he agrees to hide Émilie, the escapee, and a Nazi officer, shows up to investigate Mireille's disappearance. André will do anything to bring his wife home, catapulting him, their son, and Émilie on a perilous journey impeded by temptation, past trauma, and stunning revelations. The French Baker's War is as relevant today for its themes of duty to strangers and sacrifice for family. Recommended for readers who enjoyed The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Book Thief, and The Nightingale.

Saved in:
Subjects
Online Access
Instantly available on hoopla.
Cover image
Published
[United States] : Michael Whatling 2021.
Language
English
Physical Description
1 online resource
Format
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
ISBN
9781777569914
1777569915
Access
AVAILABLE FOR USE ONLY BY IOWA CITY AND RESIDENTS OF THE CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS OF JOHNSON COUNTY, UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS, HILLS, AND LONE TREE (IA).
Main Author
Michael Whatling (author)
Corporate Author
hoopla digital (-)
Review by Publisher Summary 1

?ABSENCE ISN'T A HOLE. IT'S A PRESENCE LIVING INSIDE YOU, EATING ITS WAY OUT.Occupied France, 1943. Returning home from the daily hunt for the rationed ingredients necessary to keep his family pâtisserie open, André Albert finds his four-year-old son in the street, his wife gone, and an emaciated Jewish woman cowering behind the display case. Without Mireille, the foundation of André's world crumbles. He desperately searches for her, but finds more trouble than answers. Lives are further jeopardized when he agrees to hide Émilie, the escapee, and a Nazi officer shows up to investigate Mireille's disappearance.André will do anything to bring his wife home, catapulting him, their son, and Émilie on a perilous journey impeded by temptation, past trauma, and stunning revelations. The French Baker's War is as relevant today for its themes of duty to strangers and sacrifice for family. Recommended for readers who enjoyed The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Book Thief, and The Nightingale.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Occupied France, 1943. Returning home from the daily hunt for the rationed ingredients necessary to keep his family pâtisserie open, a baker finds his four-year-old son in the street, his wife gone, and an emaciated Jewish woman cowering behind the display case.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

"Absence isn’t a hole. It’s a presence living inside you, eating its way out."Occupied France, 1943. Returning home from the daily hunt for the rationed ingredients necessary to keep his family pâtisserie open, André Albert finds his four-year-old son in the street, his wife gone, and an emaciated Jewish woman cowering behind the display case.Without Mireille, the foundation of André’s world crumbles. He desperately searches for her, but finds more trouble than answers. Lives are further jeopardized when he agrees to hide Émilie, the escapee, and a Nazi officer shows up to investigate Mireille’s disappearance.André will do anything to bring his wife home, catapulting him, their son, and Émilie on a perilous journey impeded by temptation, past trauma, and stunning revelations.The French Baker’s War is as relevant today for its themes of duty to strangers and sacrifice for family.Recommended for readers who enjoyed The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Book Thief, and The Nightingale.