Tell her no lies

Kelly Irvin

eBook - 2018

Combining romance and suspense, bestselling author Kelly Irvin's Tell Her No Lies is a high-stakes race for the truth. Even the most admired families have secrets to hide. . . Nina Fischer carries a camera wherever she goes-so she can view life through a filter. Safely. After her mother abandoned her to the streets, Nina has kept people at a distance, including her uncle, who adopted Nina and her sister. Wealthy and proud, he is a good man, a fair judge, and someone many in San Antonio admi...re. But when he is murdered, and the detective assigned to the case accuses Nina of the crime, she knows she must act. She's determined to use her journalism background to find the real killer. The two men in her life want to help, but can she trust them? She's known Rick since they were children, but now he's an attorney whose political aspirations seem more important than Nina's tragic loss. And then there's Aaron, a news videographer; using their friendship could break the biggest story of his career. Following the evidence leads Nina on a journey of discovery into her father's shocking masquerade as a law-abiding, family-loving Christian. Unlocking these secrets could prove fatal, but it's the only way Nina will ever be able to trust love again. Combining romance and suspense, bestselling author Kelly Irvin's Tell Her No Lies is a high-stakes race for the truth.

Saved in:
Subjects
Genres
Christian fiction
Online Access
Instantly available on hoopla.
Cover image
Published
[United States] : Thomas Nelson, Inc 2018.
Language
English
Physical Description
1 online resource
Format
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
ISBN
9780785223122
0785223126
Access
AVAILABLE FOR USE ONLY BY IOWA CITY AND RESIDENTS OF THE CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS OF JOHNSON COUNTY, UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS, HILLS, AND LONE TREE (IA).
Main Author
Kelly Irvin (author)
Corporate Author
hoopla digital (-)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

When her adopted father, Geoffrey, is found murdered at their home, Nina Fischer is immediately considered the prime suspect. With her mother's incarceration for dealing drugs running through her head, Nina wonders if she is about to follow the same path. Boyfriend Rick Zavala is an attorney with high aspirations of running for political office. He offers support but Nina begins to worry that his help might be in his own interest, not hers. Aaron McClure is a reporter looking for his big break. Would he use Nina to advance his own career? As she tries to find out who murdered Geoffrey, Nina discovers some of his papers revealing long-hidden secrets that forever change her views of her past. VERDICT Irvin ("Amish of Bee County" series) creates a complex web with enough twists and turns to keep even the most savvy romantic suspense readers guessing until the end. Known for her Amish novels, this two-time Christy Award finalist shows that her talents span subgenres from tranquil Amish stories to rapidly paced breathless suspense.—Christine Sharbrough, Industry, TX Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

Review by PW Annex Reviews

Late one night, former journalist Nina Fischer, the heroine of this gripping novel of romantic suspense from Irvin (the Amish of Bee County novels), is at the San Antonio, Tex., home of her adoptive father, Judge Geoffrey Fischer, when she discovers him lying dead on his office floor. A gun is at his side. Since she was the only person in house at the time of the murder and there's no sign of forced entry, the police regard her as the prime suspect. With the help of her news videographer friend, Aaron McClure, Nina tries to learn who would have wanted to kill her father, a family-loving Christian. The judge adopted Nina and her sister years before when they were abandoned by his sister, their biological mother. As Nina uncovers secrets of her father's past, the body count rises. Meanwhile, the love triangle among Nina; her attorney boyfriend, Rick Zavala; and Aaron, who has loved her from a distance, adds emotional depth. As Nina becomes the target of a killer, the action builds to a stunning conclusion. No one is above suspicion in a tale sure to appeal to readers beyond its main Christian audience. Agent: Julie Gwinn, Seymour Agency. (Nov.) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly Annex.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Even the most admired families have secrets to hide. Nina Fischer carries a camera wherever she goes--so she can view life through a filter. Safely. After her mother abandoned her to the streets, Nina has kept people at a distance, including her uncle, who adopted Nina and her sister. Wealthy and proud, he is a good man, a fair judge, and someone many in San Antonio admire. But when he is murdered, and the detective assigned to the case accuses Nina of the crime, she knows she must act. She's determinedto use her journalism background to find the real killer. The two men in her life want to help, but can she trust them? She's known Rick since they were children, but now he's an attorney whose political aspirations seem more important than Nina's tragic loss. And then there's Aaron, a news videographer; using their friendship could break the biggest story of his career. Following the evidence leads Nina on a journey of discovery into her father's shocking masquerade as a law-abiding, family-loving Christian. Unlocking these secrets could prove fatal, but it's the only way Nina will ever be able to trust love again. Combining romance and suspense, bestselling author Kelly Irvin's Tell Her No Lies is a high-stakes race for the truth"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Combining romance and suspense, bestselling author Kelly Irvin's Tell Her No Lies is a high-stakes race for the truth. "A moving and compelling tale about the power of grace and forgiveness that reminds us how we become strongest in our most broken moments.''Library Journal review of Upon a Spring BreezeEven the most admired families have secrets to hide . . .Nina Fischer carries a camera wherever she goes'so she can view life through a filter. Safely. After her mother abandoned her to the streets, Nina has kept people at a distance, including her uncle, who adopted Nina and her sister. Wealthy and proud, he is a good man, a fair judge, and someone many in San Antonio admire. But when he is murdered, and the detective assigned to the case accuses Nina of the crime, she knows she must act. She's determined to use her journalism background to find the real killer. The two men in her life want to help, but can she trust them?  She's known Rick since they were children, but now he's an attorney whose political aspirations seem more important than Nina's tragic loss. And then there's Aaron, a news videographer; using their friendship could break the biggest story of his career. Following the evidence leads Nina on a journey of discovery into her father's shocking masquerade as a law-abiding, family-loving Christian. Unlocking these secrets could prove fatal, but it's the only way Nina will ever be able to trust love again. Combining romance and suspense, bestselling author Kelly Irvin's Tell Her No Lies is a high-stakes race for the truth.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Even the most admired families have secrets to hide in this romantic suspense novel—a high-stakes race for the truth after a shocking murder.Nina Fischer carries a camera wherever she goes so she can view life through a filter. Safely. After her mother abandoned her to the streets, Nina kept people at a distance, including her uncle, Geoffrey, who adopted Nina and her sister. Wealthy and proud, he is a good man, a fair judge, and someone many in San Antonio admire.But when he is murdered, and the detective assigned to the case accuses Nina of the crime, she knows she must act. She’s determined to use her journalism background to find her adoptive father’s real killer. The two men in her life want to help, but can she trust them? She’s known Rick since they were children, but now he’s an attorney whose political aspirations seem more important than Nina’s tragic loss. And then there’s Aaron, a news videographer, who knows that using their friendship could break the biggest story of his career.Following the evidence leads Nina on a journey of discovery into her father’s shocking masquerade as a law-abiding, family-loving Christian. When her biological mother makes an appearance at Geoffrey’s funeral and asks to be welcomed back into her daughters’ lives, Nina is even more determined to find the truth about her past. Unlocking these secrets could prove fatal, but it’s the only way Nina will ever be able to trust love again.A fast-paced thriller, Tell Her No Lies is sure to satisfy fans of romantic suspense.Praise for Tell Her No Lies:“Tell Her No Lies is true romantic suspense at its best! Kelly Irvin has penned a heart-stopping, adrenaline pumping romantic suspense with an unlikely heroine that tugs at the heartstrings. Highly recommended!”—Colleen Coble, USA TODAY bestselling author“In a world where so many present one facade externally and another inside their homes, this novel shines a light on the power of truth to cut through the darkness. Wrap that inside a page-turning mystery and some sweet romance and it’s a story perfect for readers who love multiple threads.”—Cara Putman, author of the Hidden Justice seriesFull-length, stand-alone romantic suspenseIncludes discussion questions for book clubsPerfect for fans of Colleen Coble, Dani Pettrey, and Allison Brennan

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Combining romance and suspense, bestselling author Kelly Irvin’s Tell Her No Lies is a high-stakes race for the truth. “A moving and compelling tale about the power of grace and forgiveness that reminds us how we become strongest in our most broken moments.”—Library Journal review of Upon a Spring BreezeEven the most admired families have secrets to hide . . .Nina Fischer carries a camera wherever she goes—so she can view life through a filter. Safely. After her mother abandoned her to the streets, Nina has kept people at a distance, including her uncle, who adopted Nina and her sister. Wealthy and proud, he is a good man, a fair judge, and someone many in San Antonio admire. But when he is murdered, and the detective assigned to the case accuses Nina of the crime, she knows she must act. She’s determined to use her journalism background to find the real killer. The two men in her life want to help, but can she trust them?  She’s known Rick since they were children, but now he’s an attorney whose political aspirations seem more important than Nina’s tragic loss. And then there’s Aaron, a news videographer; using their friendship could break the biggest story of his career. Following the evidence leads Nina on a journey of discovery into her father’s shocking masquerade as a law-abiding, family-loving Christian. Unlocking these secrets could prove fatal, but it’s the only way Nina will ever be able to trust love again. Combining romance and suspense, bestselling author Kelly Irvin’s Tell Her No Lies is a high-stakes race for the truth.

Review by Publisher Summary 5

In Tell Her No Lies, a new romantic suspense novel, talented author Kelly Irvin explores the question of what makes a family---nature or nurture?---in a fast-paced race to the truth.