Fire and vengeance

Robert B. McCaw

eBook - 2020

Having killed his father's nemesis and gotten away with it, Hilo, Hawaìi Chief Detective Koa Kane, is not your ordinary cop. Estranged from his younger brother who has been convicted of multiple crimes, he is not from a typical law enforcement family. Yet, Koa's secret demons fuel his unwavering drive to pursue justice. Never has Koa's motivation been greater than when he learns that an elementary school was placed atop a volcanic vent, which has now exploded. The subsequent mur...ders of the school's contractor and architect only add urgency to his search for the truth. As Koa's investigation heats up, his brother collapses in jail from a previously undiagnosed brain tumor. Using his connections, Koa devises a risky plan to win his brother's freedom. As Koa gradually unravels the obscure connections between multiple suspects, he uncovers a 40 year-old conspiracy. When he is about to apprehend the perpetrators, his investigation suddenly becomes entwined with his brother's future, forcing Koa to choose between justice for the victims and his brother's freedom.

Saved in:
Series
McCaw, Robert B. Koa Kāne Hawaiian mystery.
Subjects
Online Access
Instantly available on hoopla.
Cover image
Published
[United States] : Oceanview Publishing 2020.
Language
English
Physical Description
1 online resource
Format
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
ISBN
9781608093694
1608093697
Access
AVAILABLE FOR USE ONLY BY IOWA CITY AND RESIDENTS OF THE CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS OF JOHNSON COUNTY, UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS, HILLS, AND LONE TREE (IA).
Main Author
Robert B. McCaw (author)
Corporate Author
hoopla digital (-)
Review by Booklist Reviews

McCaw has again cooked up a tasty stew with ingredients from a mix of staples from the crime-fiction pantry. His excellent Off the Grid (2019) combined elements of police procedural and thriller. This fine novel adds a theme Ross Macdonald cherished: a decades-old crime rising up like a revenant to damage the present. Again we meet Koa Kane, chief detective in the Hilo, Hawaii, police. Kane is also drawn from a familiar template: the hero guilty of a crime, in this case murder, that he must somehow expiate. The occasion is a volcanic explosion that destroys a school building and kills 14 children and 4 teachers. As Koa investigates criminal neglect, the luminaries responsible for building the school near the volcano begin dying. Koa, a fan of Sherlock Holmes, honors his hero by observing the jarring detail in one death scene. It's a supposed suicide by hanging, but the rope is the wrong length. Koa's effort to connect everything makes for fine reading. So does the sudden escape attempt at the finale. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

The eruption of Hualalai Mountain, one of the five volcanoes that make up Hawaii Island, drives McCaw's sluggish third Koa Kane Hawaiian mystery (after 2019's Off the Grid). This natural disaster kills 14 children and four teachers at the KonaWili elementary school. Investigators discover that the school was constructed directly on top of a volcanic fault. "The builders deliberately put those kids at risk. That's murder by reckless endangerment.... Somebody's going to pay for this. And pay big time," vows Chief Det. Koa Kane. He tracks down the project's general contractor and architect, but in both cases only arrives in time to find that each has been murdered. Koa becomes entangled in a sticky web of deceit as he uncovers a conspiracy that dates back decades. The slow-moving plot picks up as it approaches the dramatic showdown between Koa and the chief villain. Readers who like unsubtle, straightforward conflicts between good and evil will be satisfied. Agent: Mel Parker, Mel Parker Books. (July) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A heinous conspiracy—a volcano exacting revenge—an island paradise in anguish Having killed his father's nemesis and gotten away with it, Hilo, Hawaii Chief Detective Koa Kane, is not your ordinary cop. Estranged from his younger brother, who has been convicted of multiple crimes, he is not from a typical law enforcement family. Yet, Koa's secret demons fuel his unwavering drive to pursue justice. Never has Koa's motivation been greater than when he learns that an elementary school was placed atop a volcanic vent, which has now exploded. The subsequent murders of the school's contractor and architect only add urgency to his search for the truth. As Koa's investigation heats up, his brother collapses in jail from a previously undiagnosed brain tumor. Using his connections, Koa devises a risky plan to win his brother's freedom. As Koa gradually unravels the obscure connections between multiple suspects, he uncovers a forty-year-old conspiracy. When he is about to apprehend the perpetrators, his investigation suddenly becomes entwined with his brother's future, forcing Koa to choose between justice for the victims and his brother's freedom.Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and James Lee Burke While all of the novels in the Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:Off the Grid Fire and Vengeance Death of a Messenger Treachery Times Two (coming January 2022)