Slaughterhouse-five

hoopla digital

eBook - 2020

With Kurt Vonnegut's seminal anti-war story, Slaughterhouse-Five, Eisner Award-winning writer Ryan North (Unbeatable Squirrel Girl) and Eisner Award-nominated artist Albert Monteys (Universe!) translate a literary classic into comic book form in the tradition of A Wrinkle in Time and Fight Club 2. Billy Pilgrim has read Kilgore Trout and opened a successful optometry business. Billy Pilgrim has built a loving family and witnessed the firebombing of Dresden. Billy Pilgrim has traveled to the... planet Tralfamadore and met Kurt Vonnegut. Billy Pilgrim has come unstuck in time. Slaughterhouse-Five is at once a farcical look at the horror and tragedy of war where children are placed on the frontlines and die (so it goes), and a moving examination of what it means to be a fallible human.

Saved in:
Subjects
Genres
Science fiction films
Electronic books
Graphic novels
Comic books, strips, etc
Online Access
Instantly available on hoopla.
Cover image
Published
[United States] : BOOM! Studios 2020.
Language
English
Physical Description
1 online resource
Format
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Audience
Rated PA
ISBN
9781646680375
1646680375
Access
AVAILABLE FOR USE ONLY BY IOWA CITY AND RESIDENTS OF THE CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS OF JOHNSON COUNTY, UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS, HILLS, AND LONE TREE (IA).
Corporate Author
hoopla digital (-)
Other Authors
George Roy Hill, 1921-2002 (director), Paul Monash, 1917-2003 (producer), Stephen Geller (screenwriter), Michael Sacks (actor), Ron Leibman (composer), Valerie Perrine (-), Eugene Roche, 1928-2004, Sharon Gans, Holly Near, Perry King, 1948-, Kevin Conway, Frederick Ledebur, 1900-1986, Sorrell Booke, 1930-1994, Roberts Blossom, John Dehner, Gilmer McCormick, 1947-, Karl Otto Alberty, 1933-, Glenn Gould, Kurt Vonnegut
Review by Publisher Summary 1

With Kurt Vonnegut’s seminal anti-war story, Slaughterhouse-Five, Eisner Award-winning writer Ryan North (Unbeatable Squirrel Girl) and Eisner Award-nominated artist Albert Monteys (Universe!) translate a literary classic into comic book form in the tradition of A Wrinkle in Time and Fight Club 2. Billy Pilgrim has read Kilgore Trout and opened a successful optometry business. Billy Pilgrim has built a loving family and witnessed the firebombing of Dresden. Billy Pilgrim has traveled to the planet Tralfamadore and met Kurt Vonnegut. Billy Pilgrim has come unstuck in time. Slaughterhouse-Five is at once a farcical look at the horror and tragedy of war where children are placed on the frontlines and die (so it goes), and a moving examination of what it means to be a fallible human.