Finding Noel

Richard Paul Evans

eAudio - 2006

A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift, and The Christmas List. The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption. A young woman, who has been adopted as a child by a loving family, has only a Christmas ornament inscribed with the word Noel as a keepsake of her birth family, about whom she remembers nothing. When long hidden memories resurface, ...she begins an emotionally challenging personal journey as she searches for her biological sister and clues about her mysterious past...

Saved in:
Subjects
Online Access
Instantly available on hoopla.
Cover image
Published
[United States] : Simon & Schuster Audio 2006.
Edition
Abridged
Language
English
Physical Description
1 online resource (1 audio file (4hr., 33 min.)) : digital
Format
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
ISBN
9780743561921
0743561929
Access
AVAILABLE FOR USE ONLY BY IOWA CITY AND RESIDENTS OF THE CONTRACTING GOVERNMENTS OF JOHNSON COUNTY, UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS, HILLS, AND LONE TREE (IA).
Main Author
Richard Paul Evans (-)
Corporate Author
hoopla digital (-)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Evans' latest offering is a charming holiday story about two strangers who change each other's lives. Mark Smart thinks he has hit rock bottom when his car dies on a snowy evening in Utah. He stumbles into a coffee shop and meets Macy Wood, a young woman he connects with immediately. She gives him a ride home and over the next few weeks, the two swap their life stories. Mark is reeling from his mother's death and his estrangement from his father, while Macy, adopted at age seven, longs to find her younger sister who was taken by another family. Mark encourages Macy to look for her sister, and with his support, she ventures first to the adoption agency and then to the house she and her sister lived in with their troubled father. Mark wants to marry Macy, but his unresolved family issues give her cause for concern, and she pushes him away, forcing Mark to confront his own demons. Evans' many fans will want his latest, and this heartwarming tale is perfect for every reader who loves sweet and uplifting fare. ((Reviewed September 15, 2006)) Copyright 2006 Booklist Reviews

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Best-selling author Evans (The Christmas Box) returns with another tale of faith and hope for the holiday season. Mark's life is falling apart—he is falsely accused of theft, struggles with depression, and is distraught over the unexpected death of his mother. Then he meets Macy, a young woman with her own share of troubles, including an emotionally abusive foster family. Together, they overcome their problems and go on a quest to find Macy's long-lost sister, Noel. The story jumps from flashbacks of Macy's past to Mark's journal entries, which results in a trying, disjointed read. However, Evans's past success makes this appropriate for most collections, particularly where inspirational fiction is popular. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 6/15/06.] [Page 52]. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Except for a Christmas ornament, nothing connects Macy to the parents who abandoned her at age seven, but she's still determined to find the little sister she believes she has. With a five-city tour. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

On the night that Mark Smart has decided will be his last, his car dies in a blizzard. He enters a closing coffee shop and finds Macy Wood, who literally offers him a shoulder to cry on. The two forge a deep friendship, and after three weeks, Mark proposes marriage. She declines, but waitress Joette, who has taken care of Macy since she was 13, orchestrates a reunion as Mark tries to smooth over the rifts dividing what remains of his family. Mark's stepfather's advice "sometimes it's the fight that makes a thing worth having" serves as the defining aphorism of Evans's yuletide offering. (Oct.) [Page 35]. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A twenty-one-year-old woman searches for clues to her past while struggling with vague memories of being sent away by her parents at the age of seven, a younger sister, and a Christmas ornament inscribed with the word, "Noel."

Review by Publisher Summary 2

The Christmas season is supposed to be full of joy, but not for Mark Smart. Life had dealt him one blow after another until one snowy November night, when he finds a beautiful young woman who will change his life forever. Macy Wood has little memory of her birth parents, and memories she'd rather forget of her adopted home. A Christmas ornament inscribed with the word "Noel" is the only clue to the little sister she only vaguely remembers, a clue that will send her and Mark on a journey to reclaim her past, and her family.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift, and The Christmas List. The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption.A young woman, who has been adopted as a child by a loving family, has only a Christmas ornament inscribed with the word 'Noel' as a keepsake of her birth family, about whom she remembers nothing. When long hidden memories resurface, she begins an emotionally challenging personal journey as she searches for her biological sister and clues about her mysterious past...