Girls at the edge of the world

Laura Brooke Robson

Book - 2021

In a world bound for an epic flood, Natasha, a Principal Flyer in the court's Royal Flyers, a lauded fleet of aerial silk performers, will do anything to save her family, but unbeknownst to her, her newest recruit has plans of her own.

Saved in:

Bookmobile Young Adult Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Robson, Laura
1 / 1 copies available

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Robson Laura
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Bookmobile Young Adult YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Robson, Laura Checked In
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Robson Laura Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Young adult fiction
Lesbian fiction
Fantasy fiction
Novels
Published
New York : Dial Books 2021.
Language
English
Physical Description
405 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780525554035
0525554033
Main Author
Laura Brooke Robson (author)
Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 8 Up—Natasha is the principal flyer for the Royal Flyers, a silks dancing group that preserves the traditions in her land. Ella is foreign, brought to Kostrov by a thirst for revenge, and joins the Royal Flyers in order to get closer to her target, King Nikolai. Although the Royal Flyers are well-taken care of, their standing among the royals is uncertain. Kostrov faces constant storms, foretold by their religious book Captain's Log, and the world will eventually flood. The kingdom is building a fleet of ships but will not have enough room to save everyone. When Natasha finds out the Royal Flyers are no longer guaranteed a spot on the royal fleet, she makes up her mind to marry Nikolai and bring her friends with her on the fleet when the world ends. But will she be drawn to Nikolai, or to the mysterious new flyer with a hidden mission? This is a charming LGBTQIA+ novel. Ella is marked as a siren, a woman who enjoys the company of other women, and she must endure the negative implications it has for her in Kostrovian society. Natasha grows from an uncertain protagonist into a strong character who makes her own choices. The worldbuilding creates a believable, almost-dystopian background to the rest of the plot, and the novel is fleshed out with a cast of well-rounded characters. Natasha is pale and freckled and Ella has olive-toned skin. VERDICT A recommended purchase for fantasy lovers.—Stacey Shapiro, Cranford P.L., NJ Copyright 2021 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

In a world bound for an epic flood, Natasha, a Principal Flyer in the court’s Royal Flyers, a lauded fleet of aerial silk performers, will do anything to save her family, but unbeknownst to her, her newest recruit has plans of her own. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

In a world bound for an epic flood, only a chosen few are guaranteed safe passage into the new world once the waters recede. The Kostrovian royal court will be saved, along with their guards. The fate of the court's Royal Flyers, a lauded fleet of aerialsilk performers, is less certain. Principal Flyer Natasha Koskinen will do anything to save the only family she's ever known. Her newest recruit, Ella Neves, is driven less by her desire to survive the floods than her thirst for revenge. With the end of the world looming, and dark secrets about the Kostrovian court coming to light, Ella and Natasha can either give in to despair-- or find a new reason to live. -- adapted from jacket

Review by Publisher Summary 3

In a world bound for an epic flood, Natasha, a Principal Flyer in the court's Royal Flyers, a lauded fleet of aerial silk performers, will do anything to save her family, but unbeknownst to her, her newest recruit has plans of her own.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Set in a world on the edge of an apocalyptic flood, this heart-stoppingly romantic fantasy debut is perfect for fans of Rachel Hartman and Rae Carson.In a world bound for an epic flood, only a chosen few are guaranteed safe passage into the new world once the waters recede. The Kostrovian royal court will be saved, of course, along with their guards. But the fate of the court's Royal Flyers, a lauded fleet of aerial silk performers, is less certain. Hell-bent on survival, Principal Flyer, Natasha Koskinen, will do anything to save the flyers, who are the only family she's ever known. Even if "anything" means molding herself into the type of girl who could be courted by Prince Nikolai. But unbeknownst to Natasha, her newest recruit, Ella Neves, is driven less by her desire to survive the floods than her thirst for revenge. And Ella's mission could put everything Natasha has worked for in peril. As the oceans rise, so too does an undeniable spark between the two flyers. With the end of the world looming, and dark secrets about the Kostrovian court coming to light, Ella and Natasha can either give in to despair . . . or find a new reason to live.