When you get the chance

Tom Ryan, 1977 February 26-

Book - 2021

"Follow cousins on a road trip to Pride as they dive into family secrets and friendships in this contemporary novel"--

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Ryan Tom
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Ryan Tom Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Young adult fiction
Novels
Published
Philadelphia : RP Teens 2021.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
270 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780762495009
0762495006
Main Author
Tom Ryan, 1977 February 26- (author)
Other Authors
Robin Stevenson, 1968- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Their grandfather's untimely death brings Talia, 18, and Mark, 17, together in Toronto for the first time in 7 years. Virtual strangers, the kids find themselves tasked with cleaning out their grandparents' summer cottage on a lake miles from the city, a bummer since Mark is determined to experience Toronto's Pride weekend and Talia urgently needs to see her partner to assess the state of their faltering relationship. Desperate, the kids decide to abandon their responsibilities and hightail it to the city without telling their parents. Not a good idea, although they manage to achieve their goals: Talia defining her relationship, and Mark being able to enjoy Pride to the nth degree. Neither of the kids is terribly sympathetic when we first meet them; Talia is somewhere between strident and sullen, while Mark puts the lack in lackadaisical. But give them a chance: they grow and change over the course of the story, and by its end, readers will be rooting for both them and this agreeable novel. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Ryan (Keep This to Yourself) and Stevenson (Pride) put a decidedly queer spin on "summer at the lake" and "road trip" tropes in this satisfying tale of teen cousins. Talia, 18, ends up at the Ontario family cottage with Mark, 17, and his 10-year-old sister Paige following their grandfather's funeral. They are supposed to be cleaning out the cabin, but Mark is distracted by a local bad boy and wishes he could get back to Toronto for the annual Pride festival. Talia wants to make the trip as well, to find out where she stands with Erin, whom she's been dating for the past two years and has recently come out as nonbinary and polyamorous. The discovery of a Ford Mustang in the cottage's shed presents the trio with the means to make the trip, which occurs with various complications. While presenting a variety of LGBTQ concepts, including historical context and cultural change, Ryan and Stevenson give their credibly written teens familiar challenges while Paige delves into a family mystery, offering the story a layer of drama and intrigue. A fun, thought-provoking tale. Ages 13–up. Agent: Eric Smith, P.S. Literary. (May) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 8 Up—Mark is a somewhat irresponsible, fun-loving gay teen who's hoping summer distance will snuff out his latest romantic tryst. His cousin Talia is queer and struggling to save her fading long-term relationship with nonbinary partner Erin. After their grandfather dies and their grandmother is hospitalized, Mark and Talia find themselves at the family's summer cottage in Ontario cleaning out old memories. But both have bigger plans: with Mark's younger sister Paige in tow, the unlikely duo embark on a road trip to Toronto Pride to salvage their summer and maybe even their parents' fraught bond. Chapters alternate between Mark's and Talia's perspectives to shape an emotionally resonant journey, mostly for Talia. Varying articulations of young queer identity are discussed with aplomb; Talia's broader awareness of gender diversity and systemic inequity opens Mark's eyes as a privileged cisgender white boy. Historical elements of Canada's LGBTQ movement are touched on through the thin yet pleasant cast of supportive queer elders. Mark's careless attitude toward his family, and his consistent interest in getting his needs met by any means necessary, makes his evolution at the novel's end feel rushed and unrealistic. Readers will appreciate the tender depiction of growing apart and breakups, and the concept of nonmonogamous relationships is also explored without stigma. VERDICT A solidly entertaining trip through Canada's queer history, and one family's difficult secrets. Recommended for fans of lightly adventurous realistic fiction.—Ashleigh Williams, School Library Journal Copyright 2020 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Follow cousins on a road trip to Pride as they dive into family secrets and friendships in this contemporary novel"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Growing up on opposite ends of the country in the aftermath of a family estrangement, queer cousins Mark and Talia embark on a road trip to Toronto to find themselves and participate in the city’s Pride events. 10,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Follow cousins on a road trip to Pride as they dive into family secrets and friendships in this contemporary novel'perfect for fans of David Levithan and Becky Albertalli. As kids, Mark and his cousin Talia spent many happy summers together at the family cottage in Ontario, but a fight between their parents put an end to the annual event. Living on opposite coasts'mark in Halifax and Talia in Victoria'they haven't seen each other in years. When their grandfather dies unexpectedly, Mark and Talia find themselves reunited at the cottage once again, cleaning it out while the family decides what to do with it. Mark and Talia are both queer, but they soon realize that's about all they have in common, other than the fact that they'd both prefer to be in Toronto. Talia is desperate to see her high school sweetheart Erin, who's barely been in touch since leaving to spend the summer working at a coffee shop in the Gay Village. Mark, on the other hand, is just looking for some fun, and Toronto Pride seems like the perfect place to find it. When a series of complications throws everything up in the air, Mark and Talia'with Mark's little sister Paige in tow'decide to hit the road for Toronto. With a bit of luck, and some help from a series of unexpected new friends, they might just make it to the big city and find what they're looking for. That is, if they can figure out how to start seeing things through each other's eyes.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Follow cousins on a road trip to Pride as they dive into family secrets and friendships in this contemporary novel—perfect for fans of David Levithan and Becky Albertalli. As kids, Mark and his cousin Talia spent many happy summers together at the family cottage in Ontario, but a fight between their parents put an end to the annual event. Living on opposite coasts—Mark in Halifax and Talia in Victoria—they haven't seen each other in years. When their grandfather dies unexpectedly, Mark and Talia find themselves reunited at the cottage once again, cleaning it out while the family decides what to do with it. Mark and Talia are both queer, but they soon realize that's about all they have in common, other than the fact that they'd both prefer to be in Toronto. Talia is desperate to see her high school sweetheart Erin, who's barely been in touch since leaving to spend the summer working at a coffee shop in the Gay Village. Mark, on the other hand, is just looking for some fun, and Toronto Pride seems like the perfect place to find it. When a series of complications throws everything up in the air, Mark and Talia—with Mark's little sister Paige in tow—decide to hit the road for Toronto. With a bit of luck, and some help from a series of unexpected new friends, they might just make it to the big city and find what they're looking for. That is, if they can figure out how to start seeing things through each other's eyes.