Once upon a quinceañera

Monica Gomez-Hira

Book - 2021

"Eighteen-year-old Carmen takes on a summer internship that has her reuniting with estranged family for an over-the-top quinceañera, reluctantly reconnecting to a long-lost ex-boyfriend, and finding happiness in the chaos"--

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Gomez-Hira, Monica
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Gomez-Hira, Monica Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Domestic fiction
Romance fiction
Humorous fiction
Novels
Published
New York, NY : HarperTeen [2021]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
425 pages ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 13 up.
Grades 10-12.
ISBN
9780062996831
0062996835
Main Author
Monica Gomez-Hira (author)
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

To earn her high school diploma, a Miami teen must spend the summer performing with her ex-boyfriend in Gomez-Hira's charming contemporary YA rom-com. "I'm not exactly the buttercup-yellow satin, bluebirds-singing-around-her-head type." For 18-year-old high school graduate-in-waiting Carmen Aguilar, life isn't a fairy tale—except when she's posing as royalty at children's birthday parties. Thanks to a botched final project, Carmen needs to secure a final academic credit with a do-over in the form of an internship with Dreams Come True, a party princess company. But when her estranged Tía Celia hires Dreams Come True to perform at her cousin Ariana's quinceañera, and her boss assigns her ex-boyfriend Mauro to be her dance partner, Carmen has to confront her past mistakes—and the memory of her own canceled quinceañera—to get a storybook ending. Debut author Gomez-Hira's writing delights, handling the romantic tension between Carmen and Mauro, as well as the strained, aptly layered family dynamics and Miami setting, with fun and flair. Fans of Jane the Virgin will have a ball. Ages 13–up. Agent: Jim McCarthy, Dystel, Goderich & Bourret. (Mar.) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—When Carmen Aguilar starts her summer internship at Dreams Come True, she is dreading the long days ahead dressing up as a party princess. Quitting is not an option since she needs the internship to graduate high school, so she does her best to play the part. No matter how bad she expected it to be, she did not imagine that her ex-boyfriend, Mauro, would be one of her co-workers, and her dance partner. As if things couldn't get worse, Carmen learns that the company has been hired by her younger cousin, Ariana, for her quinceañera. After a recent family argument left the two estranged, Carmen finds it almost impossible to face Ariana and her overpowering parents. As the Miami summer unrolls, Carmen struggles with her unresolved feelings toward Mauro, while also trying to handle the dysfunction that plagues her extended family. Gomez-Hira makes Miami come alive with her descriptions of clubs, sunsets, and Latinx culture. The characters, most of whom are Latin American, blend their culture into their dialogue, lending the book authenticity. Though there are times when the teenage romance drama seems a bit overdone, many readers will likely enjoy the emotional outbursts and over-the-top passion. The scenes between Carmen and Mauro, a few of which contain sexual content, often are cliched, but readers looking for mushy sweet talk won't mind. VERDICT A charming novel that will appeal to teens looking for a love story.—Karin Greenberg, Manhasset H.S., NY Copyright 2020 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Eighteen-year-old Carmen takes on a summer internship that has her reuniting with estranged family for an over-the-top quinceaänera, reluctantly reconnecting to a long-lost ex-boyfriend, and finding happiness in the chaos"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Accepting a humiliating unpaid internship working as a party princess in a ball gown, romance-minded Carmen embarks on a summer that is shaped by blistering Miami heat, an unexpected attraction and a spoiled cousin’s quinceañera. A first novel. 40,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Jane the Virgin, this immediately accessible and irresistibly fun #ownvoices rom-com debut will spin readers into an unforgettable summer of late-night dancing, broken hearts, second chances, and telenovela twists. Carmen Aguilar just wants to make her happily ever after come true. Except apparently 'happily ever after' for Carmen involves being stuck in an unpaid summer internship. Now she has to perform as a party princess! In a ball gown. During the summer. In Miami. Fine. Except that's only the first misfortune in what's turning out to a summer of Utter Disaster.  But if Carmen can manage dancing in the blistering heat, fending off an oh-so-unfortunately attractive ex, and stopping her spoiled cousin from ruining her own quinceañera'Carmen might just get that happily ever after'after all.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Jane the Virgin, this immediately accessible and irresistibly fun rom-com debut will spin readers into an unforgettable summer of late-night dancing, broken hearts, second chances, and telenovela twists.Carmen Aguilar just wants to make her happily ever after come true. Except apparently “happily ever after” for Carmen involves being stuck in an unpaid summer internship. Now she has to perform as a party princess! In a ball gown. During the summer. In Miami.Fine. Except that’s only the first misfortune in what’s turning out to be a summer of Utter Disaster. But if Carmen can manage dancing in the blistering heat, fending off an oh-so-unfortunately attractive ex, and stopping her spoiled cousin from ruining her own quinceañera—Carmen might just get that happily ever after—after all.