The paradise affair

Bill Pronzini

Book - 2021

"Quincannon's pursuit of two con men who have absconded to Hawaii with a considerable sum of his employer's assets dovetails nicely with Sabina's vision of a second honeymoon.But neither is wont to stay out of trouble, and Sabina inadvertently becomes involved in a locked room/dying message murder in Honolulu."--Publisher.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Pronzini Bill
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Pronzini Bill Checked In
Series
Muller, Marcia. Carpenter and Quincannon mystery ; 9.
Subjects
Genres
Historical fiction
Mystery fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Published
New York : Forge 2021.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Item Description
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Series numeration from publisher's website.
Sequel to: The stolen gold affair.
Series created and originally written by Marcia Muller and Bill Pronzini.
Physical Description
176 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781250216502
1250216508
Main Author
Bill Pronzini (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

In 1893, John Quincannon is a San Francisco PI and former Secret Service agent. He bears the fictional gumshoe's mark of Cain: once a ricochet from his gun killed a pregnant woman hanging out wash. His partner—his wife now, in the ninth book in the series—is former Pinkerton detective Sabrina Carpenter. She operates by woman's wiles, which function much like inductive reasoning. They own a Bay Area detective agency and avoid the teasing question—Which of them is the smart one?—by having little to do with each other. John is chasing a couple of grifters, and when the trail leads to Hawaii, Sabrina tags along. Then they split. Quincannon hounds the flimflammers in the time-honored hard-boiled manner, interviewing sleazy people in sleazy surroundings, while Sabrina is invited into a luscious mystery. She's nearby when the gunshot sounds. The victim was alone in his study, the door and both windows locked. Suddenly we have a classic Golden Age mystery, with Sabrina to figure it out. It's Marlowe alternating with Poirot, an unusual and welcome mix. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Set in 1898, MWA Grand Master Pronzini's routine ninth mystery featuring San Francisco PIs Sabina Carpenter and John Quincannon (after 2020's The Stolen Gold Affair) takes the married couple to Hawaii in pursuit of Jackson "Lonesome Jack" Vereen and E.B. Nagle (aka Nevada Ned), who duped an Oakland, Calif., businessman into investing thousands in a nonexistent silver mine. Quincannon focuses on tracking down the two grifters, a task that leads him to investigating multiple murders. Meanwhile, Carpenter becomes involved in a howdunit after Gordon Pettibone, the owner of an import-export bank, is found dead behind a locked door in his study. A loaded pistol next to Pettibone's corpse makes accident or suicide the logical explanation. Carpenter probes deeper, but her efforts to show how someone could have entered the sealed room don't generate much excitement. Pronzini has been better at evoking a past time and place. Series fans invested in the leads are most likely to appreciate this one. Agent: Dominick Abel, Dominick Abel Literary. (Jan.) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"The latest Carpenter & Quincannon mystery: Quincannon's pursuit of two con men who have absconded to Hawaii with a considerable sum of his employer's assets dovetails nicely with Sabina's vision of a second honeymoon. But neither is wont to stay out of trouble, and Sabina inadvertently becomes involved in a locked room/dying message murder in Honolulu"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Piggybacking a search for two con men onto his wife’s plans for a second honeymoon, Quincannon encounters more trouble than anticipated when Sabina becomes embroiled in a locked-room murder case. 25,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Mystery Writers of America Grand Master Bill Pronzini’s next historical mystery The Paradise Affair, perfect for fans of Peaky Blinders and The Alienist.The latest Carpenter & Quincannon mystery: “Attractive characters, a finely tuned plot, and fascinating snippets of California history. Who could ask for more?”—Publishers Weekly on The Stolen Gold Affair Quincannon’s pursuit of two con men who have absconded to Hawaii with a considerable sum of his employer’s assets dovetails nicely with Sabina’s vision of a second honeymoon.But neither is wont to stay out of trouble, and Sabina inadvertently becomes involved in a locked room/dying message murder in Honolulu.