Far from normal

Becky Wallace

Book - 2020

"Maddie McPherson is sick of Normal--both her hometown of Normal, Illinois and being the 'normal' sibling. But when she lands a summer internship with a sports marketing firm, she finally has a chance to crawl out of her genius brother's shadow. Not to mention, a glowing letter of recommendation could secure her admission to her dream college"--Amazon.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Wallace Becky
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Wallace Becky Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Published
Salem, Massachusetts : Page Street Publishing Co 2020.
Language
English
Physical Description
233 pages : 21 cm
ISBN
9781645670568
1645670562
Main Author
Becky Wallace (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Spending summer in Chicago with her aunt, who helped her get an internship at Velocity Marketing, Maddie is initially disappointed to discover she might spend most of her days fetching coffee and combing tabloids for mentions of athletes whose brands are managed by Velocity—that is, until a chance encounter lands her a top assignment working with Italian soccer star Gabriel Fortunato. Maddie knows this is a chance to prove herself and earn a much-needed letter of recommendation, but she soon finds herself juggling growing feelings for Gabe, a fellow intern's envy and sabotage, and the realization that not everyone around her—including Gabe and her aunt—are how they seem. Wallace's laugh-out-loud novel places readers in Maddie's first-person point of view, sharing in the uncertainties that come along with her new experiences. Maddie's fellow interns and family members keep her both grounded and guessing, and the question of Gabe's true intentions will keep pages turning into the night. A fun, clever, feel-good read. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Maddie McPherson is sick of Normal-both her hometown of Normal, Illinois and being the 'normal' sibling. But when she lands a summer internship with a sports marketing firm, she finally has a chance to crawl out of her genius brother's shadow. When the company tasks her with repairing the image of teen soccer phenom Gabriel Fortunato, she wonders if she's set herself up for embarrassment"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

From Stealing Home author Becky Wallace comes a Devil Wears Prada-inspired YA romance, in which “normal girl” Maddie must repair the image of Major League Soccer’s bad boy to ace her internship. A perfect read for fans of Morgan Matson and Miranda Kenneally.Maddie McPherson is sick of Normal—both her hometown of Normal, Illinois and being the ‘normal’ sibling. But when she lands a summer internship with a sports marketing firm, she finally has a chance to crawl out of her genius brother’s shadow. Not to mention, a glowing letter of recommendation could secure her admission to her dream college.But Maddie’s nickname is “CalaMaddie” for a reason, and when the company tasks her with repairing the image of teen soccer phenom Gabriel Fortunato, she wonders if she’s set herself up for embarrassment. Gabriel is a tabloid magnet, who’s best-known for flubbing Italy’s World Cup hopes. As Maddie works with him to develop “pleasant and friendly” content for social media, she also learns he’s thoughtful, multi-talented, and fiercely loyal—maybe even to a fault. Falling for a footballer is exactly how CalaMaddie would botch this internship, but with the firm pressuring her to get the job done, perhaps her heart is worth risking?