The voting booth

Brandy Colbert

Book - 2020

The first year they are eligible to vote, Marva and Duke meet at their polling place and, over the course of one crazy day, fall in love.--

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Colbert Brandy
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Colbert Brandy Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Published
Los Angeles : Disney-Hyperion 2020.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
293 pages ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 12 - 18.
Grades 7-9.
ISBN
9781368053297
1368053297
Main Author
Brandy Colbert (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Marva Sheridan believes political activism can make a difference. She's been helping to register voters all year, and she's been looking forward to the day when she can cast her first vote in an election. Now that the day is finally here, even her boyfriend's sudden lack of interest in voting at all can't totally dampen her spirits. For Duke Crenshaw, voting isn't just a social obligation, it's a familial one; he wants to get it over with, but he knows how important it was to his late activist brother. But when Marva sees Duke turned away at the polling place, her social-justice gears start working overtime. Over the course of a single day, the two hop between precincts trying to find a way to get Duke to vote. Along the way, they discuss race (both Marva and Duke are Black, while Marva faces barriers with her white boyfriend), privilege (Marva attends a private school, Duke public), and their different family dynamics. Though they start the day as strangers, a deeper connection slowly begins to bloom. Through their distinct alternating perspectives and without ever becoming didactic, Colbert warmly and appealingly addresses issues that many teens, especially those considering how their own first vote may play out, are facing. Strong characterizations within the one-day scope make this a feat of storytelling, too. Grades 10-12. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

This timely, politically charged novel sees black first-time voters Marva Sheridan and Duke Crenshaw fulfilling their civic duty. Marva, passionate about politics, has been working to get out the vote. When Duke is unable to vote at their mutual polling place due to a registration mix-up, she makes it her mission to ensure he can cast his ballot. Still grieving the death of his political activist brother, biracial Duke knows exactly what's at stake. As Election Day progresses toward its results, neither teen counts on the whirlwind journey that takes them from being strangers at the polls to confidantes on the road, discussing Marva's white boyfriend's refusal to vote, Duke's fractured family's grief, and Marva's missing internet-famous cat. Colbert (The Only Black Girls in Town) aptly discusses matters of civil disobedience and social justice—including police brutality and voter suppression—without sacrificing the delicate, lighthearted relationship at the story's center. Readers will find abundant food for thought in this vital fictional account of two teens intent on using their voices and engaging in a political system that makes it difficult for them to participate. Ages 12–up. Agent: Tina Dubois, ICM Partners. (July) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Preparing to vote for the first time, Marva is indignant when she observes a fellow teen turned away from the voting booth and teams up with him to fight a corrupt system and search for a missing cat. By the award-winning author of Finding Yvonne. 35,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

The first year they are eligible to vote, Marva and Duke meet at their polling place and, over the course of one crazy day, fall in love.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also A Star. Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She’s always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election? Duke Crenshaw is so done with this election. He just wants to get voting over with so he can prepare for his band’s first paying gig tonight. Only problem? Duke can’t vote. When Marva sees Duke turned away from their polling place, she takes it upon herself to make sure his vote is counted. She hasn’t spent months doorbelling and registering voters just to see someone denied their right. And that’s how their whirlwind day begins, rushing from precinct to precinct, cutting school, waiting in endless lines, turned away time and again, trying to do one simple thing: vote. They may have started out as strangers, but as Duke and Marva team up to beat a rigged system (and find Marva’s missing cat), it’s clear that there’s more to their connection than a shared mission for democracy. Romantic and triumphant, The Voting Booth is proof that you can’t sit around waiting for the world to change…but some things are just meant to be.