Turtle under ice

Juleah Del Rosario

Book - 2020

Told in two voices, sisters Row and Ariana are frozen by grief over their mother's death, years before, until Ariana leaves for reasons Row does not understand.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Delrosar Juleah
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Delrosar Juleah Checked In
Published
New York : Simon Pulse 2020.
Language
English
Physical Description
pages cm
Audience
Ages 12 up.
Grades 10-12.
ISBN
9781534442955
1534442952
Main Author
Juleah Del Rosario (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Hewn apart by the death of their mother when they were young, Ariana and Rowena have grown increasingly different and distant from each other. Row, the younger sister, plays the part of school soccer star, pouring her efforts into on-field excellence. Meanwhile, Ariana, on the cusp of graduating high school—or potentially failing out—faces the prospect of a directionless future, while fearing that she will never truly belong anywhere. Rocked by news of their stepmother's miscarriage, both sisters retreat into themselves even more. Row doubles down on sports, and Ariana decides to take more radical steps by wandering off into the snowy night, telling no one where she went. Through twin narratives told in verse, the reader learns how both sisters nurse the still-open wound of their mother's death. While the short description may imply a thriller or mystery, the book is actually a story of profound silences and words not spoken, of secreted pains slowly and steadily revealed. Elegiac and beautiful, del Rosario's tale plumbs the deep relationships between sisters with grace and compassion. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 7 Up—In the six years since their mother died, Filipino American sisters Rowena and Ariana have dealt with their grief by coasting on autopilot, going through the motions necessary to keep up appearances. They even have had moments of happiness, like anticipating the arrival of a new baby sister by their likable stepmother, Maribel. But when Maribel miscarries 12 weeks into her pregnancy, the sisters' worlds come crashing down. No longer able to fake being all right, they each react in different ways. Ariana sets out in a snowstorm without telling anybody, determined to display artwork inspired by her mother at a downtown art exhibit. Rowena turns inward, rebuffing the attempts of her best friend to help her and focusing on soccer instead. Del Rosario aptly conveys each sister's depth of emotion and pain in beautifully written free verse that alternates viewpoints and helps fill the gaps in the narrative. The lyrical writing is purposefully sparse, but the author does a fine job of building a tangibly melancholy atmosphere using few words. The girls are described as brown-skinned and their dad is Filipino. VERDICT A poignant, quiet novel in verse that will appeal to teens seeking a meaningful story. A recommended purchase.—Melissa Kazan, Horace Mann School, NY Copyright 2019 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Told in two voices, sisters Row and Ariana are frozen by grief over their mother's death, years before, until Ariana leaves for reasons Row does not understand.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A teen whose family has been traumatized since the death of her mother a few years earlier wakes up in the middle of the night to discover that her older sister has mysteriously gone missing during a snowstorm. 25,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A teen navigates questions of grief, identity, and guilt in the wake of her sister's mysterious disappearance in this breathtaking novel-in-verse from the author of 500 Words or Less'perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo.Rowena feels like her family is a frayed string of lights that someone needs to fix with electrical tape. After her mother died a few years ago, she and her sister, Ariana, drifted into their own corners of the world, each figuring out in their own separate ways how to exist in a world in which their mother is no longer alive.But then Ariana disappears under the cover of night in the middle of a snowstorm, leaving no trace or tracks. When Row wakes up to a world of snow and her sister's empty bedroom, she is left to piece together the mystery behind where Ariana went and why, realizing along the way that she might be part of the reason Ariana is gone.Haunting and evocative'and told in dual perspectives'Turtle Under Ice examines two sisters frozen by grief as they search for a way to unthaw.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

A teen navigates questions of grief, identity, and guilt in the wake of her sister’s mysterious disappearance in this breathtaking novel-in-verse from the author of 500 Words or Less—perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo.Rowena feels like her family is a frayed string of lights that someone needs to fix with electrical tape. After her mother died a few years ago, she and her sister, Ariana, drifted into their own corners of the world, each figuring out in their own separate ways how to exist in a world in which their mother is no longer alive.But then Ariana disappears under the cover of night in the middle of a snowstorm, leaving no trace or tracks. When Row wakes up to a world of snow and her sister’s empty bedroom, she is left to piece together the mystery behind where Ariana went and why, realizing along the way that she might be part of the reason Ariana is gone.Haunting and evocative—and told in dual perspectives—Turtle Under Ice examines two sisters frozen by grief as they search for a way to unthaw.