All that's bright and gone A novel

Eliza Nellums

Book - 2019

"There's plenty about the grownup world that six-year-old Aoife doesn't understand. Like what happened to her big brother Theo and why her mama is in the hospital instead of home where she belongs. Uncle Donny says she just needs to be patient, but Aoife's sure her mama won't be able to come home until Aoife learns what really happened to her brother. The trouble is no one wants to talk about Theo because he was murdered. But by whom? With her imaginary friend Teddy by ...her side and the detecting skills of her nosy next door neighbor, Aoife sets out to uncover the truth about her family. But as her search takes her from the banks of Theo's secret hideout by the river to the rooftops overlooking Detroit, Aoife will learn that some secrets can't stay hidden forever and sometimes the pain we bury is the biggest secret of them all" --

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Nellums Eliza
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Nellums Eliza Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Mystery fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Published
New York : Crooked Lane 2019.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
247 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781643852379
164385237X
Main Author
Eliza Nellums (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Six-year-old Aoife Scott misses her big brother, Theo. Her mom, a single parent in suburban Detroit, told her he went away, which is the same thing Aoife was told about her grandmother, whose grave they visit. But no one will talk to her about him. Neither will they acknowledge her imaginary friend Teddy. One day, her mother has a breakdown at the mall, Aoife is taken by social services, and her Uncle Donny is called in to stay with her. Aoife enlists her eight-year-old neighbor, Hannah, to help solve the mystery of Theo, and Aoife, of course, has her imaginary friend Teddy go on the adventure with them. Together the girls search Theo's room for clues and explore the park Aoife recalls as being Theo's favorite spot. Told entirely from Aoife's perspective, this first novel blends elements of literary fiction and domestic thrillers to explore the power of secrets, the resilience of children, and their ability to understand matters far beyond their years, if given a chance. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Six-year-old Aoife Scott, the narrator of Nellums's impressive debut, worries about her mother, Siobhan, after Siobhan is sent to the hospital following a disturbance outside Michigan's Westgate Mall. Aoife is puzzled about the delay in her mother's return home and the vagueness of her beloved lawyer uncle, Donny Scott, about her mother's situation. Aoife is equally mystified by conflicting information about her dead brother, Theo; the silence around Theo's parentage and demise; the role of her mother's "special friend," Marine veteran Mac Corey; the hostility of her neighbor, Mr. Rutledge; and the odd nocturnal behavior of Uncle Donny. Inspired by her imaginary friend, Teddy, and her actual friend, eight-year-old fledgling detective Hannah, Aoife sets out on a path of discovery that entails risk to herself and her loved ones. Through the honest, winning, and convincing Aoife, Nellums provides ample evidence that the most important mysteries are those that lie closest to home. Fans of Alan Bradley's Flavia de Luce novels won't want to miss this one. (Dec.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Unable to get answers from her traumatized family in the aftermath of her older brother’s murder, a precocious 6-year-old teams up with a nosy neighbor to uncover painful secrets on the rooftops of Detroit. A first novel.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"There's plenty about the grownup world that six-year-old Aoife doesn't understand. Like what happened to her big brother Theo and why her mama is in the hospital instead of home where she belongs. Uncle Donny says she just needs to be patient, but Aoife's sure her mama won't be able to come home until Aoife learns what really happened to her brother. The trouble is no one wants to talk about Theo because he was murdered. But by whom? With her imaginary friend Teddy by her side and the detecting skills of her nosy next door neighbor, Aoife sets out to uncover the truth about her family. But as her search takes her from the banks of Theo's secret hideout by the river to the rooftops overlooking Detroit, Aoife will learn that some secrets can't stay hidden forever and sometimes the pain we bury is the biggest secret of them all"."--Provided by publisher.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

One of Amazon’s Best Books of the Month Fans of Jodi Picoult and Fredrik Backman will fall for this “luminous” debut mystery following a young girl on a quest to save her family (Alan Bradley, New York Times–bestselling author of the Flavia de Luce mysteries)I know my brother is dead. But sometimes Mama gets confused. There’s plenty about the grownup world that six-year-old Aoife doesn't understand. Like what happened to her big brother Theo and why her mama is in the hospital instead of home where she belongs. Uncle Donny says she just needs to be patient, but Aoife’s sure her mama won’t be able to come home until Aoife learns what really happened to her brother. The trouble is no one wants to talk about Theo because he was murdered. But by whom? With her imaginary friend Teddy by her side and the detecting skills of her nosy next-door neighbor, Aoife sets out to uncover the truth about her family. But as her search takes her from the banks of Theo’s secret hideout by the river to the rooftops overlooking Detroit, Aoife will learn that some secrets can't stay hidden forever and sometimes the pain we bury is the biggest secret of them all. Driven by Aoife’s childlike sincerity and colored by her vivid imagination, All That's Bright and Gone illuminates the unshakeable bond between families—and the lengths we’ll go to bring our loved ones home.