Left out

Tim Green, 1963-

Book - 2016

A heartfelt and moving story about a deaf boy's journey to change how others see him--both on and off the football field.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jFICTION/Green Tim
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jFICTION/Green Tim Checked In
Children's Room jFICTION/Green Tim Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Fiction
Published
New York : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2016]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
341 pages ; 24 cm
Audience
Ages 8-12.
ISBN
9780062293824
0062293826
Main Author
Tim Green, 1963- (author)
Review by Publisher Summary 1

Struggling to overcome his hearing impairment and the way others see him because of it, Landon uses his height and strength to prove himself on the football team without initial success before befriending a star player who understands how Landon feels about being different. By the best-selling author of Unstoppable. Simultaneous eBook. 75,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green tells a heartfelt and moving story about a deaf boy’s journey to change how others see him—both on and off the football field. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica.Landon Dorch wants to be like everyone else. But his deafness and the way he talks have always felt like insurmountable obstacles. But now he finally sees his chance to fit in. Bigger and taller than any other seventh grader in his new school, Landon plans to use his size to his advantage and join the school’s football team. But the same speech problems and the cochlear implants that help him hear continue to haunt him.Just when it looks like Landon will be left out of football for good, an unlikely friend comes along. But in the end only Landon can fight his way off the bench and through a crowded field of bullies bent on seeing him forever left out.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green tells a heartfelt and moving story about a deaf boy's journey to change how others see him'both on and off the football field. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica.Landon Dorch wants to be like everyone else. But his deafness and the way he talks have always felt like insurmountable obstacles. But now he finally sees his chance to fit in. Bigger and taller than any other seventh grader in his new school, Landon plans to use his size to his advantage and join the school's football team. But the same speech problems and the cochlear implants that help him hear continue to haunt him.Just when it looks like Landon will be left out of football for good, an unlikely friend comes along. But in the end only Landon can fight his way off the bench and through a crowded field of bullies bent on seeing him forever left out.