Death & Honey

Galen Dara, Kevin Hearne, Lila Bowen, Chuck Wendig

Book - 2019

Three favorite fantasy authors contribute stories from their ongoing series where you can catch up with beloved side-characters who are called to action by bees. Oberon the Irish wolfhound discovers a body beneath a beehive; Rhett Walker follows a bee to a weeping mother in a valley impossibly in the middle of a desert; and Wren Martin is spiraling after questioning her removal of a killer's shade, but is given a new target by a woman with a strange power.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Death Checked In
Wendig, Chuck. Miriam Black series.
Bowen, Lila. Shadow.
Hearne, Kevin. Iron druid chronicles.
Oberon's meaty mystery
Burton, MI : Subterranean Press 2019.
Signed, Limited edition. First edition
Item Description
Limited edition statement from dust jacket.
Physical Description
301 pages with 4 pages of plates : color illustrations ; 21 cm
Other Authors
Galen Dara (illustrator), Kevin Hearne (-), Lila Bowen, Chuck Wendig
  • The Buzz kill
  • Grist of bees
  • Interlude : Tanager.
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

In this blood-soaked collection of fantasy novellas tied to larger series, three otherwise unconnected tales are linked by the thematic inclusion of murder and bees. Kevin Hearne's "The Buzz Kill" returns to the Iron Druid Chronicles after the events of 2018's Scourged. As narrated by the faithful sausage-loving wolfhound Oberon, druid Atticus O' Sullivan investigates the mysterious death of a man deep in the wilds of Tasmania. In the weird west story "Grist of Bees" by Lila Bowen, retired monster-hunter Rhett Walker (last seen in 2018's Treason of Hawks) is tempted back into service to rescue a kidnapped girl from a malevolent oracle on a mountain, a quest that leads the reluctant hero to face elements of his checkered past. Meanwhile, Chuck Wendig checks in on the world of Miriam Black in "Interlude: Tanager," which features Wren, a psychic teenager unable to escape her life as a hunter of serial killers. While all three stories rely heavily upon previous knowledge of their respective series, they're still accessible for newcomers. Established fans and completionists will undoubtedly enjoy seeing what these characters are up to now. (Mar.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.