Broken lands

Jonathan Maberry

Book - 2019

Gabriella "Gutsy" Gomez teams up with Benny Imura and his gang as they seek to finish what Captain Joe Ledger started--to find a cure for the zombie infection.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Maberry Jonathan
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Maberry Jonathan Checked In
Series
Maberry, Jonathan. Broken lands ; bk. 1.
Subjects
Genres
Horror fiction
Published
New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers [2019]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Item Description
Sequel to the series Rot & Ruin.
Physical Description
533 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781534406377
1534406379
9781534406384
1534406387
Main Author
Jonathan Maberry (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Maberry returns to the world of Rot & Ruin for this new zombie-themed YA series. The star of the book is 15-year-old Gabriella "Gutsy" Gomez, whose recently dead mother comes home to visit. The existence of walking dead is no surprise to Gutsy; what is a surprise, however, is that someone apparently dug up her mother's body on purpose. Who would do such a thing? And why? Featuring some characters from the Rot & Ruin books, this novel can be seen either as an extension of that series or as a spin-off. Either way, it's a triumph. Equally adept at writing for adult and YA audiences, Maberry manages here to preserve the gory horror and complex literary structures of his adult fiction, while keeping the book teen-friendly. A wonderful multilayered horror story that Maberry's many fans of all ages will savor. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 8 Up—Revisit "Rot and Ruin" with Maberry's latest postapocalyptic zombie tome. Split mainly between the perspectives of Gabriella "Gutsy" Gomez and much-beloved protagonist Benny Imura, this volume picks up shortly after the events of Fire & Ash. While Benny and his friends are helping to establish a new safe haven in California, Gutsy's in New Mexico burying her mother—again. The teens' worlds are soon thrown into chaos as mysterious forces and dangerous strangers threaten their fragile security. While the story's overall premise is exciting—if a tad redundant after the previous installments—Maberry packs too much exposition into the first 100 pages. Readers may feel disoriented by this quick introduction to such a fully developed world; additionally, they are given an infodump about the characters' skin colors, sizes, sexual orientations, relationship statuses, and religious ideologies. In his effort to orientate readers, in this world, Maberry has sacrificed nuance entirely. VERDICT Fans of Maberry's "Rot & Ruin" series may be excited to revisit this world, but newcomers should begin with the original books before diving into this title.—Kaitlin Frick, New York Public Library Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Gabriella "Gutsy" Gomez teams up with Benny Imura and his gang as they seek to finish what Captain Joe Ledger started--to find a cure for the zombie infection.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

While Gutsy grapples with the loss of her quiet existence when her late mother returns from the dead, Benny and his friend take up Joe Ledger's effort in an unexplored territory to find a cure for a zombie plague. By the award-winning author of the Rot & Ruin series. 30,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

New York Times bestselling author Jonathan Maberry returns to the world of Rot & Ruin with this first novel in a series that's more thrilling and filled with exceptionally terrifying adventures.Ever since her mother's death, Gabriella 'Gutsy' Gomez has spent her days flying under the radar. But when her mother's undead body is returned to her doorstep from the grave and Gutsy witnesses a pack of ravagers digging up Los Muertos'her mother's name for the undead'she realizes that life finds you no matter how hard you try to hide from it.Meanwhile, Benny Imura and his gang set out on a journey to finish what Captain Joe Ledger started: they're going to find a cure. After what they went through in the Rot & Ruin, they think they've seen it all, but as they venture into new and unexplored territory, they soon learn that the zombies they fought before were nothing compared to what they'll face in the wild beyond the peace and safety of their fortified town.