The geography of lost things

Jessica Brody

Book - 2018

Ali and her ex-boyfriend, Nico, both eighteen, rehash their ill-fated romance during a road trip to sell the 1968 Firebird convertible she just inherited from her estranged father.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Brody Jessica
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Brody Jessica Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Bildungsromans
Published
New York : Simon Pulse 2018.
Edition
First Simon Pulse hardcover edition
Language
English
Physical Description
458 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781481499217
1481499211
Main Author
Jessica Brody (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Ali's final week of high school feels more like a dead end than a new beginning. Between her house being foreclosed on and the sting of a recent breakup, she's almost given up that anything about her life could be salvaged. But when she learns she's inherited her late father's prized Firebird convertible, she finds herself on a road trip with her ex to sell the car, save her home, and hopefully put the past firmly behind her. Brody (The Chaos of Standing Still, 2017) delivers a welcome addition to the long list of YA road trip titles. Ali's inability to trust or, more important, recognize her walls as a crutch rings true, though her emotional blocks start to drag the plot a little towards the end. Brody creates a compelling mystery with a satisfying payoff, and a running quiz motif is a cute addition to the story. Ali's journey parlays into a sweet novel about finding the things you weren't looking for but needed all the same. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

After 18-year-old Ali's absentee father dies, she and her mother learn that they are about to lose their house in Russellville, Calif., to foreclosure. Ali will do anything to keep their home, even after her mom has given up, so she decides to sell the 1968 Firebird convertible she's just inherited from her dad to raise money. Because Ali can't drive a stick shift, she leans on her ex-boyfriend, Nico, to drive her the five hours to Crescent City, to the dealer who will buy the car. Along the way, Ali and Nico place online ads seeking people who are willing to "trade up" one possession for something more valuable, and Ali has alternating flashbacks of her complicated father and her relationship with Nico. Brody (The Chaos of Standing Still) girds this novel with a lot of apparatus—lists begin each chapter, pop quiz questions pepper Ali's thoughts, and song lyrics divide the sections. Readers may feel that they've been on similar YA road trips before, but things pick up in the second half, when the question zeroes in on whether Nico and Ali will earn enough money to keep Ali's house. The scavenger hunt structure adds a spin to a familiar story about a teen moving through loss and into forgiveness. Ages 12–up. Agent: Jim McCarthy, Dystel, Goderich & Bourret. (Oct.) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

When her estranged father passes away and bequeaths her a vintage car, Ali embarks on a road trip with her ex, whose growing collection of seemingly random objects from eccentric strangers they meet along the way begins revealing truths about Ali's father. By the author of The Karma Club. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Ali and her ex-boyfriend, Nico, both eighteen, rehash their ill-fated romance during a road trip to sell the 1968 Firebird convertible she just inherited from her estranged father.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.A lot can happen on the road from lost to found'Ali Collins doesn't have room in her life for clutter or complications. So when her estranged father passes away and leaves her his only prized possession'a 1968 Firebird convertible'Ali knows she won't keep it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father's unfulfilled promises. And especially not when a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast is offering enough money for the car to save her childhood home from foreclosure. There's only one problem, though. Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift.But her ex-boyfriend, Nico, does.The road trip gets off to a horrible start, filled with unexpected detours, roadblocks, and all the uncomfortable tension that comes with being trapped in a car with your ex. But when Nico starts collecting items from the quirky strangers they meet along the way, Ali starts to sense that these objects aren't random. Somehow they seem to be leading her to an unknown truth about her father. A truth that will finally prove to Ali that some things'even broken things'are worth saving.