Odd one out

Nic Stone

Book - 2018

High school juniors and best friends Courtney and Jupe, and new sophomore Rae, explore their sexuality and their budding attractions for one another.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Stone Nic
1 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Stone Nic Checked In
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Stone Nic Due Jun 11, 2022
Subjects
Published
New York : Crown [2018]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
309 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781101939536
1101939532
9781101939543
1101939540
9781101939567
1101939567
Main Author
Nic Stone (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Stone, author of Dear Martin (2017), delivers another poignant and necessary book for teens with her sophomore novel. It is a story about self-discovery, identity, love, and all the uncomfortable and staggering emotions felt keenly when you are a teen. The novel is told from three perspectives. Courtney Cooper is a basketball star, and although he has had a string of relationships—and breakups—he has always harbored a crush on his best friend, Jupiter Charity-Sanchez. However, Jupiter likes girls. Jupiter thinks her identity is neatly and clearly defined, until Rae Chin moves to town. Rae finds herself drawn to both Jupiter and Courtney, and a love triangle evolves among the trio that is complicated, messy, and real. Each teen embarks on their own journey of self-discovery to figure out who they are, what they need, and what they desire outside of the societal norms and labels dictated to them. Like Dear Martin, this shines in its authentic, timely dialogue; vivid, touching characters; and complex interpersonal relationships. It is a novel vital to young adults' lives that examines the intersections of sexuality, gender, and race—issues and blurred boundaries that teens grapple with in a society that favors neat and tidy boxes. Essential reading that proves some glass houses need stones thrown at them. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

In Decatur, Ga., three teens in a complex love triangle navigate a fine line between friendship and romantic love. High-school junior Courtney ("Coop") can't deny his physical attraction to his neighbor and female best friend, Jupiter, whom he's loved for years. She identifies as gay, but she begins to wonder about her feelings for Coop, leading to mixed messages between them. Meanwhile, new student Rae dramatically changes Courtney and Jupiter's dynamic after befriending them, and she finds herself infatuated with them both. Divided into three sections, each narrated distinctively by one of the three protagonists, the book effectively conveys teen dynamics, early sexual exploration, and feeling left out. Stone (Dear Martin) challenges stereotypical notions of what it means to be straight, bisexual, or gay, showing how sexual identities and desires can be as complicated as the individual human brain. Ages 14–up. Agent: Katherine Dunn, InkWell Management. (Oct.) Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—This sophomore novel by the author of Dear Martin is something completely different. Coop has been in love with his best friend, Jupiter, for as long as he can remember. He knows his love will never be returned because Jupiter is only attracted to girls. Rae is new in town and fits into "Jupe & Coop's" orbit very comfortably. Slowly, Rae begins to recognize that she is attracted to them both. This is the setup for the love triangle book that teen fiction has needed for a long time. While ethnicity and race are built into the intersectional storytelling, this title has more of a focus on the LGBTQ+ experience. Many young readers will identify with the feelings explored: the differences between romantic love and physical love, the difficulties associated with testing the boundaries of one's own sexuality with someone who is sure of theirs, and love beyond the binary. The subject matter is handled sensitively and thoughtfully. The novel's three perspectives are provided consecutively rather than the traditional alternating structure. The consequence of this is that one loses the access to the interior monologues of characters as the story progresses, which creates gaps in the telling. Nevertheless, this is an excellent choice. VERDICT An important and necessary love story for YA that will fill a gap in collections.—Kristin Lee Anderson, Jackson County Library Services, OR Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

The best-selling author of Dear Martin presents a story told in three voices that finds old and new friendships challenged by bisexual crushes, heartbreak and self-discovery. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Sanchez (Coop & Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven-years-old. She's his partner-in-crime and other half. But lately, Cooper can't ignore he might want something more than friendship from Jupiter. When Rae Chin moves to town she can't believe how lucky she is to find Coop and Jupe. Being the new kid is usually synonymous with pariah, but around these two, she finally feels like she belongs. She's so grateful she wants to kiss him...and her.Jupiter has always liked girls. But when Rae starts dating Cooper, Jupe realizes that the only girl she ever really imagined by his side was her.One story. Three sides. No easy answers.AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEARA BOSTON GLOBE BEST CHILDREN'S BOOK OF 2018"Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed." -Teen Vogue"Declaring yourself--how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with--is treated with real tenderness." -The New York Times