Every time you go away

Elizabeth M. Harbison

Book - 2018

Willa has never fully recovered from the sudden death of her husband, Ben. She became an absent mother to her young son, Jamie, unable to comfort him while reeling from her own grief. Now, years after Ben's death, Willa finally decides to return to the beach house where he passed. It's time to move on and put the Ocean City, Maryland house on the market. When Willa arrives, the house is in worse shape than she could have imagined, and the memories of her time with Ben are overwhelming.... They met at this house and she sees him around every corner. Literally. Ben's ghost keeps reappearing, trying to start conversations with Willa. And she can't help talking back. To protect her sanity, Willa enlists Jamie, her best friend Kristin, and Kristin's daughter Kelsey to join her for one last summer at the beach. As they explore their old haunts, buried feelings come to the surface, Jamie and Kelsey rekindle their childhood friendship, and Willa searches for the chance to finally say goodbye to her husband and to reconnect with her son. Every Time You Go Away is a heartfelt, emotional story about healing a tragic loss, letting go, and coming together as a family.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Harbison Elizabet
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Harbison Elizabet Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Domestic fiction
Published
New York : St. Martin's Press 2018.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
viii, 293 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN
9781250043832
1250043832
Main Author
Elizabeth M. Harbison (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Three years have passed and still Willa mourns the sudden death of her husband, Ben. He died while working on their beach house in Ocean City, Maryland, leaving Willa to care for their teenage son, Jamie. Willa supports herself and Jamie on her salary, but selling the beach house would give her some much-needed financial security. Once she arrives in Ocean City to pack up and sell the beloved house, she is terrified to confront the decades of happy memories that were shared there. She isn't surprised to find that the house needs a few repairs, and the tedium of patching, painting, and packing helps calm some of the emotional chaos. But Ben's presence seems closer than ever in the old house . . . maybe too close. A heartwarming story about love transcending time and space, Harbison's (One Less Problem without You, 2016) latest will appeal to fans of Sarah Healy and Nancy Thayer. Drenching readers in Willa's salt- and sun-soaked memories, Harbison avoids melodrama, instead tempering tragedy with wry humor, heartfelt introspection, and an unexpected romance. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Jane Holcomb's cheating husband got the beach house in the divorce settlement, then died ten months after the papers were signed. So what's he doing back there, haunting her as she tries to clean up the house for sale? He's protesting that he realizes what a mistake he made—she was his one true love—and getting all huffy when she seems to be falling for the hunky contractor. From the New York Times best-selling author. Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Returning to the Maryland beach house where she and deceased husband Ben first met, finally able to sell it, Willa finds herself talking to Ben's ghost. So she invites son Jamie, best friend Kristin, and Kristin's daughter to spend the summer there so she won't go crazy. Healing time; from the New York Times best-selling author. Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Returning to the beach house where her husband died suddenly years earlier, Willa is overwhelmed by memories and reaches out to her son and friends to reconnect and heal.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Returning to the beach house where her husband died suddenly years earlier, Willa is overwhelmed by memories and reaches out to her son and friends to reconnect and heal. By the best-selling author of If I Could Turn Back Time.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

In New York Times bestselling author Beth Harbison's most emotional novel ever, a fractured family must come together at a beach house haunted by the past.Willa has never fully recovered from the sudden death of her husband, Ben. She became an absent mother to her young son, Jamie, unable to comfort him while reeling from her own grief. Now, years after Ben’s death, Willa finally decides to return to the beach house where he passed. It’s time to move on and put the Ocean City, Maryland house on the market. When Willa arrives, the house is in worse shape than she could have imagined, and the memories of her time with Ben are overwhelming. They met at this house and she sees him around every corner. Literally. Ben’s ghost keeps reappearing, trying to start conversations with Willa. And she can’t help talking back. To protect her sanity, Willa enlists Jamie, her best friend Kristin, and Kristin’s daughter Kelsey to join her for one last summer at the beach. As they explore their old haunts, buried feelings come to the surface, Jamie and Kelsey rekindle their childhood friendship, and Willa searches for the chance to finally say goodbye to her husband and to reconnect with her son. Every Time You Go Away is a heartfelt, emotional story about healing a tragic loss, letting go, and coming together as a family.