The forest queen

Betsy Cornwell

Book - 2018

A retelling of Robin Hood in which Lady Silviana of Loughsley joins her childhood friend Bird, Little Jane, Mae Tuck, and others to become an outlaw fighting for social justice against her brother John, the Sheriff.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Cornwell Betsy
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Cornwell Betsy Checked In
Series
Cornwell, Betsy. Mechania ; 0.5.
Subjects
Genres
Young adult fiction
Published
Boston ; New York : Clarion Books, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt [2018]
Language
English
Item Description
Series information from goodreads.com
Physical Description
296 pages ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 12+.
Grades 7 to 8.
ISBN
9780544888197
0544888197
Main Author
Betsy Cornwell (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Lady Silviana is used to living in comfort in her family's home of Loughsley Abbey. When her brother, John, always overbearing, becomes the local sheriff, his oppressive rule extends to the villagers. Powerless to stop him, and unable to escape his plans for her, Sylvie runs away from home with her childhood friend, Bird, the son of a huntswoman. Together, they forge a new life for themselves in the woods and try to prepare for the difficult winter that lies ahead. To Sylvie's surprise, a community soon grows around them: they are joined by a girl called Little Jane, cast out of her family after she became pregnant by rape; a midwife named Mae Tuck escaping prejudice; and other villagers fleeing a harsh overlord. Though she's never thought of herself as a leader, Sylvie has made a stand, and she will see it through to whatever end. This is a quieter tale; Robin Hood aficionados after a swashbuckling adventure may be disappointed, but with all the traditional players naturally recast as women, it becomes a fiercely female, feminist take on the traditional legend. It's a lush, lovely exploration of the bonds of a community as one girl learns about her own privilege, and, eventually, her strength. Grades 7-10. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 8 Up—Sylvie's brother, John, has just been appointed sheriff of Loughsley, her family's estate and corresponding town full of hardworking, honest villagers. John is power hungry and he takes advantage of the local people by any means necessary. He even tries to marry Sylvie off to a much older lord. After Sylvie comes to terms with all the wrongs that John and those in power are imposing, she runs away to the woods with her friend Bird and Little Jane. As they work to survive in the woods, other villagers join them in their attempt to free themselves from the evil nobleman and John. Cornwell gives an interesting gender-bending take on the Robin Hood tale. This book brings to light a strong female lead who learns the meaning of caring about others in the community. It is not imperative to know the source material, but familiarity with the classic adds another layer of enjoyment. This is a great read with parallels to current events; it shows readers that working as a community can have its advantages. It also weaves in threads on topics such as rape and birth control. VERDICT A good choice for fans of fantasy, retellings of classic stories, the author's previous books, and strong female characters.—Maeve Dodds, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library, NC Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A retelling of Robin Hood in which Lady Silviana of Loughsley joins her childhood friend Bird, Little Jane, Mae Tuck, and others to become an outlaw fighting for social justice against her brother John, the Sheriff.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A young noblewoman becomes an outlaw fighting for justice when her older brother takes over management of their family's vast estates and begins abusing the local commoners. 35,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

From a New York Times bestselling author, a fresh, female-centered take on “Robin Hood” in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas.When sixteen-year-old Silvie’s brother takes over management of their family’s vast estates, Silvie feels powerless to stop his abuse of the local commoners. Her dearest friend asks her to run away to the woods with him, and soon a host of other villagers join them. Together, they form their own community and fight to right the wrongs perpetrated by the king and his noblemen. Perfect for fans of fairy tale retellings or anyone who loves a strong female lead, this gorgeously written take on the Robin Hood tale goes beyond the original's focus on economic justice to explore love, gender, the healing power of nature, and what it means to be a family.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

From a New York Times bestselling author, a fresh, female-centered take on 'Robin Hood' in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas.

Review by Publisher Summary 5

From a New York Times bestselling author, a fresh, female-centered take on “Robin Hood” in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas.

Review by Publisher Summary 6

From a New York Times bestselling author, a fresh, female-centered take on 'Robin Hood' in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas. When sixteen-year-old Silvie's brother takes over management of their family's vast estates, Silvie feels powerless to stop his abuse of the local commoners. Her dearest friend asks her to run away to the woods with him, and soon a host of other villagers join them. Together, they form their own community and fight to right the wrongs perpetrated by the king and his noblemen. Perfect for fans of fairy tale retellings or anyone who loves a strong female lead, this gorgeously written take on the Robin Hood tale goes beyond the original's focus on economic justice to explore love, gender, the healing power of nature, and what it means to be a family.

Review by Publisher Summary 7

From a New York Times bestselling author, a fresh, female-centered take on “Robin Hood” in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas. When sixteen-year-old Silvie’s brother takes over management of their family’s vast estates, Silvie feels powerless to stop his abuse of the local commoners. Her dearest friend asks her to run away to the woods with him, and soon a host of other villagers join them. Together, they form their own community and fight to right the wrongs perpetrated by the king and his noblemen. Perfect for fans of fairy tale retellings or anyone who loves a strong female lead, this gorgeously written take on the Robin Hood tale goes beyond the original's focus on economic justice to explore love, gender, the healing power of nature, and what it means to be a family.