The last gargoyle

Paul 1972- Durham

Book - 2018

Penhallow Fitch, a gargoyle assigned to protect a Boston apartment building, must fight against evil spirits called Netherkin and the Boneless King to keep the residents of the building and the city safe.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jFICTION/Durham Paul
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jFICTION/Durham Paul Due Aug 4, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Fantasy fiction
Published
New York : Crown Books for Young Readers [2018]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
280 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781524700201
1524700207
9781524700560
1524700568
Main Author
Paul 1972- Durham (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

He may look like one, with those stone wings and that fearsome scowl, but don't call Penhallow a gargoyle. No, he's a Grotesque, tasked with protecting the residents of the Boston building where he crouches. He's the last of his kind now, and, though he tries to combat it with wit and humor, it's a lonely existence, even after the appearance of Viola, a mysterious young girl who carts around a battered violin case, and can see Penhallow for what he is. But dark times are coming to Penhallow's city, and when the Boneless King, ruler of the underworld, arrives and is set on stealing the souls of two of the kids under Penhallow's protection, he may be facing his last fight. Durham (The Luck Uglies, 2014) once again offers up a bold, scrappy hero on a wild ride. Imaginative and occasionally melancholy, with a hero who sometimes seems as monstrous as its villains, this is a unique middle-grade story that will appeal to fans of clever, introspective adventures. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 4–6—Penhallow is one of only three gargoyles (he prefers the term grotesque) left in Boston. In his wisp form, he is able to travel the city as well as check on the inhabitants of the building he protects. When his friends Wally and Winnie, twin grotesques, are reduced to a smear on a brick wall, Penhallow senses an evil presence far more malignant than any he has confronted before. The Boneless King, ruler of the underworld, is skulking around Boston and gaining power every night. Then a mysterious girl appears on Penhallow's roof, carrying a violin case she will not put down. Viola may be the ally Penhallow needs, but only if she is what she claims to be, and that is not at all certain. Penhallow is fighting a battle he may be unable to win, and that spells disaster for his domain, for his city, and perhaps for the world. Readers will quickly be embroiled in the escalating battle against evil forces. Fans of Neil Gaiman and Jonathan Auxier, especially, will dive right in. The plot moves at a steady pace, with suspense building as secrets are discovered and truths (not all of them pleasant) are revealed. The narrative is well balanced between dialogue and description, and characters and fully developed. The Boneless King and his minions are convincingly creepy. The ending, while not a complete surprise, is bittersweet and satisfying. VERDICT School and public libraries should find space on their shelves for this fantasy title.—Katherine Koenig, Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Copyright 2017 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Penhallow is the last gargoyle protecting the streets of Boston from the creatures of the underworld"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Stone gargoyle Penhallow protects his Boston building from the undead Netherkin, but he is shaken when his ward, Hetty, is almost harmed by the underworld ruler Boneless King and wonders if he should trust Viola, a mysterious girl with a violin case.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Fearlessly protecting his Boston building from haunting spirits, a grotesque stone gargoyle, the last of his kind, struggles to protect his newest ward from an underworld king at the same time he considers partnering with a mysterious young ally. By the award-winning author of The Luck Uglies. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Fans of Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener and Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book will tremble with delight for this haunting tale about a lonely gargoyle who isn't alone at all.Penhallow is the last of his kind. The stone gargoyle--he'd prefer you call him a grotesque--fearlessly protects his Boston building from the spirits who haunt the night. But even he is outmatched when Hetty, his newest ward, nearly falls victim to the Boneless King, the ruler of the underworld.Then there's Viola, the mysterious girl who keeps turning up at the most unlikely times. In a world where nightmares come to life, Viola could be just the ally Penhallow needs. But can he trust her when every shadow hides another secret? Can he afford not to?