Secrets I know

Kallie George

Book - 2017

"A little girls shares secrets only she can tell"--

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jE/George
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jE/George Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Picture books
Published
New York : Schwartz & Wade Books [2017]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 22 x 31 cm
ISBN
9781101938935
1101938935
Main Author
Kallie George (author)
Other Authors
Paola Zakimi (illustrator)
Review by Booklist Reviews

A young girl with a vivid imagination has no end of secrets to tell: trees make the best umbrellas, you can sweeten tea with sunshine, and sunbeams lead directly to treasure. But what good are secrets if you have no one to share them with? Our young protagonist knows the truest treasure of all is a friend, and so she goes next door to visit her neighbor. Together, they share their secrets with each other and the nighttime sky. The simplicity of the story is balanced by the richly illustrated, lush backyard gardens in which it is set. Each image is spread across two pages, creating wide visual space and room for whimsical details; the bright-eyed garden creatures are especially charming. Dominated by the natural surroundings, the images convey intimacy and solitude but never feel lonely. Muted greens and blues lend softness, while solitary colors catch the eye. An homage to the imagination, this gentle and subdued story celebrates the everyday magic of children's adventures. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

As this pensive story opens, a girl sits curled up by a window; her dog gazes out at the garden, where rain falls. "I know lots of secrets," the girl says, addressing readers. "Like... Secrets are for whispering." A page turn shows her out in the garden, dressed in a raincoat, viewed through leafy branches ("Whispers hide in trees"). "Trees make great umbrellas," reads another spread, as the girl sits in a tree house with her dog, protected from the rain. Her linked musings progress ("Sunshine marks the spot... for finding buried treasure. True treasure is a friend"), and she's joined by a friend who helps her retrieve a telescope that they use to stargaze under the same "umbrella" of a tree. Zakimi (Teddy & Co.) draws animals and plants and their varied textures with care, quietly underscoring the small wonders found in a backyard; matte paper and a restrained palette add to the sense of tranquility. George's (The Lost Gift) poem celebrates nature, friendship, and understanding things not just with the head but with the heart. Ages 3–7. Agent: Emily van Beek, Folio Literary Management. (May) Copyright 2017 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

PreS-Gr 1—A girl explores the secrets in her backyard in this whimsical picture book that celebrates a child's imagination. The poetic text builds the story one idea at a time as she moves about her day. "I know lots of secrets. Like…/Secrets are for whispering./Whispers hide in trees./Trees make great umbrellas./Umbrellas are the perfect boats." Each verse is accompanied by subtle, full-page, digitally rendered pencil drawings, in muted earth tone colors, that quietly share her secrets with others. The child's adventure leads to finding treasure in a friend and confiding secrets in the stars, who tell only the trees, as the lyrical word association brings the narrative full circle. VERDICT The large format makes this serene tale perfectly suited for one-on-one or small group reading, as it thoroughly captures the inspiring wonders of a day of play in one's own backyard.—Kristine M. Casper, Huntington Public Library, NY Copyright 2017 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A little girl's day spent in her backyard reveals magical secrets about the natural world, from how whispers hide in trees to how trees make great umbrellas.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A little girl's day spent in her backyard reveals poetic, magical secrets about the natural world, from how whispers hide in trees to how trees make great umbrellas. By the author of Duck, Duck, Dinosaur. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

"A little girls shares secrets only she can tell"--

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Perfect for fans of Liz Garton Scanlon's All the World and Amy Krouse Rosenthal's I Wish You More, this charming, whimsical story about one imaginative little girl’s magical world is sure to enchant readers young and old.   Follow the girl throughout a day spent in her own backyard, and you'll discover lots of secrets only she can tell. For example, did you know that whispers hide in trees? Or that trees make great umbrellas? With a simple, poetic text from Kallie George and extraordinary illustrations from debut artist Paola Zakimi, here is a book families will read again and again and treasure for years to come.