Curtain of death A Clandestine operations novel

W. E. B Griffin

Book - 2016

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Griffin, W. E. B.
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Griffin, W. E. B. Checked In
Series
Clandestine operations
Subjects
Genres
Spy stories
Suspense fiction
Published
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons [2016]
Language
English
Physical Description
467 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN
9780399176739
039917673X
Main Author
W. E. B Griffin (author)
Other Authors
William E. (William Edmund) Butterworth (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Griffin and Butterworth's third novel in the Clandestine Operations series (following Top Secret, 2014, and The Assassination Option, 2014) again showcases the scary time period just after WWII and the beginnings of the CIA and the Cold War. Soviet NKGB agents attempt to kidnap two women in Munich, one of whom works secretly for the newly established Directorate of Central Intelligence. She is able to kill her captors and rescue the other woman, but her actions and the skill with which she executed them could reveal the existence of the new organization to enemies of the U.S., especially the Russians, who seem eager to find an excuse for war. While the narrative is compelling, there is too much reliance on dialogue and too little effort made to establish the international situation in 1946. This is a transitional book in what is looking like a lengthy series. Fans of Griffin and Butterworth, both genre vets, should backtrack to the earlier volumes (if they haven't already) and settle in for the long haul. Copyright 2016 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

In this third novel in the authors' "Clandestine Operations" series, set during the Cold War, two WACs are kidnapped in 1946 Munich by four Soviet NKGB agents. Three of the agents soon end up dead, with the fourth badly bloodied; one of their victims, the charmingly named Claudette Colbert, works for the Directorate of Central Intelligence and knows her stuff when it comes to defense. Now, however, there are far-reaching consequences for the newly formed directorate. [Page 55]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Bestseller Griffin and son Butterworth's odd decision to name a major character Claudette Colbert makes suspending disbelief even more of a challenge in their third Clandestine Operations novel (after 2014's The Assassination Option). Their Claudette Colbert is a WAC technical sergeant stationed in Munich in 1946. When four men, believed to be Polish DPs, attempt to abduct her and a fellow WAC tech sergeant in a stolen ambulance, Claudette pulls a revolver out of her bra and shoots three of her assailants dead and mortally wounds the fourth. That improbable scene paves the way for a formulaic spy story that explores the repercussions of the attempted kidnapping as well as the implications of America's denazification of German scientists after WWII. Authors such as James Michener and Joseph Kanon have explored with more depth the moral ambiguity of the U.S. government's decision to turn a blind eye to war crimes in order to counter the Soviet threat. Agent: Robert Youdelman, Rember & Curtis. (Dec.) Copyright 2016 Publisher Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

When two WACs are accosted by Soviet NKGB agents from an officers' club in 1946 Munich and kill three of their attackers to escape, the incident triggers shock waves that have major repercussions throughout a fledgling CIA.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

From #1 New York Times-bestselling author W.E.B. Griffin comes a dramatic thriller in the Clandestine Operations series about the Cold War, the fledgling Central Intelligence Agency—and a new breed of warrior. January, 1946: Two WACs leave an officers' club in Munich, and four Soviet NKGB agents kidnap them at knifepoint in the parking lot and shove them in the back of an ambulance. That is the agents' first mistake, and their last. One of the WACs, a blonde woman improbably named Claudette Colbert, works for the new Directorate of Central Intelligence, and three of the men end up dead and the fourth wounded. The “incident,” however, will send shock waves rippling up and down the line, and have major repercussions not only for Claudette, but for her boss, James Cronley, Chief DCI-Europe, and for everybody involved in their still-evolving enterprise. For, though the Germans may have been defeated, Cronley and his company are on the front lines of an entirely different kind of war now. The enemy has changed, the rules have changed—and the stakes have never been higher.