Georgia peaches and other forbidden fruit

Jaye Robin Brown

Book - 2016

When Jo Gordon and her evangelist father move to small-town Rome, Georgia, she hides her sexuality to fit in with her new stepfamily until she falls for popular girl Mary Carlson, who proves to be the ultimate temptation.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Brown Jaye
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Brown Jaye Checked In
Subjects
Published
New York, NY : HarperTeen an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2016]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
419 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780062270986
0062270982
Main Author
Jaye Robin Brown (author)
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Joanna has always been out as a lesbian to her minister father, but now that he is remarrying and moving them from tolerant Atlanta to a small Georgia town, he asks her to "lie low." Initially, it doesn't seem so bad: it's only a year until she graduates from high school, and it turns out that finding friends who share her Christian faith is kind of great. Then one of Jo's new friends reveals that she has feelings for her, and that she isn't interested in hiding. Brown (No Place to Fall) ably depicts Jo's conundrum: if she tells the truth, she breaks her promise to her father; if she doesn't, she risks losing the first girl she's been serious about. Faith matters in this book, but so do family, friends, and being funny. The dialogue is snappy—Joanna is sharp tongued and sometimes bratty—and the characters aren't types. Rather, they're individuals navigating a complicated world, which makes for a rich and satisfying read. Ages 14–up Agent: Alexandra Machinist, ICM. (Aug.) [Page ]. Copyright 2016 PWxyz LLC

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—Brown orchestrates a fast-paced narrative that is powerful, moving, and relatable. Jo Gordon, a proudly queer teen, has recently been uprooted from her home in Atlanta to a more rural part of the state during her senior year of high school. Her father also has recently remarried, is a man of faith, and has asked her to keep her sexuality hidden from the greater community. Jo manages to make friends and discovers an unexpected romance but is torn between love and the commitment she made to her father. Readers are then left to follow Jo and her friends as they attempt to navigate unfamiliar terrain that challenges ideals surrounding faith and sexuality. This work will resonate with those who enjoy a female protagonist who is bold, brave, candid, and thoughtful. The language is realistic, and the author accurately captures queer and Southern cultures. Themes such as deception, trust, and sexuality are present throughout. Brown expertly describes the complex nuances of faith and sexuality. This plot-driven story is humorous, and the characters are effortlessly likable. Teens who root for underdogs will be pulling for this dream team of characters. VERDICT For fans of Sandy Hall's Been Here All Along and David Levithan and John Green's Will Grayson, Will Grayson; this title is a worthwhile purchase for all YA collections.—Katie Flynn, Williston Northampton School, MA [Page 106]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Moved by her radio evangelist father to a conservative community in Georgia, gay teen Jo is asked to hide her sexual orientation until she becomes an adult and is surprised by her instant popularity, a situation that is threatened when she falls in love with the girl of her dreams. Simultaneous eBook. 35,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"A sweet, sexy, honest teen romance that just happens to involve two girls'all the more charming for being so very ordinary.* A Kirkus Best Book of the Year! A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year! A Bustle.com Best Young Adult Book of the Year! 3 starred reviews!Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that's perfect for fans of Julie Murphy's Dumplin' and Becky Albertalli's Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn't possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad.Even if she's starting to fall for the girl. Even if there's a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?*Kirkus

Review by Publisher Summary 3

"A sweet, sexy, honest teen romance that just happens to involve two girls—all the more charming for being so very ordinary.”—KirkusA Kirkus Best Book of the Year! A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year! A Bustle Best Young Adult Book of the Year! 3 starred reviews!Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that’s perfect for fans of Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’ and Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn’t possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad.Even if she’s starting to fall for the girl. Even if there’s a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?