Fiercombe Manor

Kate Riordan

Book - 2015

"This haunting and richly imagined dual-narrative historical novel, which will appeal to fans of Rebecca and The Little Stranger, features two women of very different eras who are united by the secrets hidden within the walls of an English manor house"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Riordan Kate
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Riordan Kate Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Historical fiction
Published
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2015]
Edition
First U.S. edition
Language
English
Item Description
"Originally published as The Girl in the Photograph in Great Britain in 2015 by Penguin UK"--Title page verso.
Physical Description
403 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN
9780062332943
0062332945
Main Author
Kate Riordan (-)
Review by Booklist Reviews

It's 1933, and Alice Everleigh is pregnant. She's not married, but her lover is, so her mother ships her off to Fiercombe Manor in rural Gloucestershire, where a childhood friend works. Mrs. Jelphs has been in service since the turn of the century, when Edward Stanton shunned the ramshackle manor and built a modern estate for his beautiful wife, Elizabeth, and the sons she was sure to bear him. Instead, their marriage was plagued by miscarriages and postpartum depression, which cut Elizabeth off from her husband and left her afraid to even confide in her diary. By the time Alice arrives, there is no trace left of Stanton Manor, Elizabeth, or her daughter. Alice's summer is peppered by visits from Thomas Stanton, the rakish heir, but more frequently by increasingly dangerous supernatural events. Alice takes refuge in Elizabeth's diary, but its writer's unknown fate has Alice questioning her own safety. Mrs. Jelphs has a touch of Mrs. Danvers about her, and the old driver, Ruck, is truly creepy. This is a good match with fans of new gothics by Diane Setterfield and Kate Morton. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

In her pregnant and unmarried state, Alice is considered a disgrace and burden on her family, so she leaves bustling London for the lonely, quiet estate of Fiercombe Manor. It is 1933, and on her own, Alice is left to perform light housework and walk through the wild and (mostly) abandoned gardens. However, there is an undercurrent within the house, an echo of the past that Alice can feel pressing on her, begging to be revealed. She finds diaries from the former lady of the house, Elizabeth Stanton, which skirt around tragedies from 30 years ago and reveal that Elizabeth was also pregnant. Alice feels a kinship despite the foreboding that history may try to repeat itself. VERDICT Heavily borrowing from gothic literature staples Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca and Charlotte Brontë's Jane Eyre, Riordan (Birdcage Walk) creates a visceral and lively narrative that seizes the reader's attention. Readers of the Victorian/gothic genre who have also enjoyed Diane Setterfield's The Thirteenth Tale and other contemporary gothics will applaud and welcome this addition.—Jennifer Funk, McKendree Univ. Lib., Lebanon, IL [Page 96]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Tragic events, buried secrets, and a mysterious manor tether the lives of two English women, separated by 30 years, in Riordan's (Birdcage Walk) Gothic-style dual narrative. Beginning in 1932, narrator Alice Eveleigh, a naive 22-year-old in London, becomes romantically involved with a married man. When she becomes pregnant, Alice's shamed parents concoct a story about a dead husband and whisk her out of the city to an old friend, a buttoned-up housekeeper at the Stanton family's Fiercombe Manor in the Cotswolds. The novel then backs up to 1898, with the other narrator, Lady Elizabeth Stanton, expecting a second child; she hopes it is a healthy boy, an heir for her demanding husband. In 1932, Alice spends her own pregnancy exploring Fiercombe, reading Elizabeth's hidden diary, discovering haunting old photos and discarded toys, and experiencing strange phenomena—screeching owls and "murmuring" wind. She befriends the estate's heir, Tom Stanton, and discovers that she and Elizabeth share a bond: "My life apparently turning into a morbid echo of Elizabeth's." When a shocking secret is revealed, Alice fears for herself and her baby. Riordan's bewitching blend of tainted aristocrats, secretive domestics, and manipulative quacks amid a crumbling English country home is atmospheric and entertaining. (Feb.) [Page ]. Copyright 2014 PWxyz LLC

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Banished to rural Gloucestershire after becoming pregnant out of wedlock in 1933, a naèive young woman becomes suspicious about the owners of the house where she awaits the birth of her child.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"This haunting and richly imagined dual-narrative historical novel, which will appeal to fans of Rebecca and The Little Stranger, features two women of very different eras who are united by the secrets hidden within the walls of an English manor house"--

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Banished to rural Gloucestershire after becoming pregnant out of wedlock in 1933, a naïve young woman becomes suspicious about the owners of the house where she awaits the birth of her child. By the author of Birdcage Walk. 25,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

In this haunting and richly imagined dual-narrative tale that echoes the eerie mystery of Rebecca and The Little Stranger, two women of very different eras are united by the secrets hidden within the walls of an English manor house.In 1933, naive twenty-two year-old Alice'pregnant and unmarried'is in disgrace. Her mother banishes her from London to secluded Fiercombe Manor in rural Gloucestershire, where she can hide under the watchful eye of her mother's old friend, the housekeeper Mrs. Jelphs. The manor's owners, the Stantons, live abroad, and with her cover story of a recently-deceased husband Alice can have her baby there before giving it up for adoption and returning home. But as Alice endures the long, hot summer at Fiercombe awaiting the baby's birth, she senses that something is amiss with the house and its absentee owners.Thirty years earlier, pregnant Lady Elizabeth Stanton desperately hopes for the heir her husband desires. Tormented by the memory of what happened after the birth of her first child, a daughter, she grows increasingly terrified that history will repeat itself, with devastating consequences.After meeting Tom, the young scion of the Stanton family, Alice becomes determined to uncover the clan's tragic past and exorcise the ghosts of this idyllic, isolated house. But nothing can prepare Alice for what she uncovers. Soon it is her turn to fear: can she escape the tragic fate of the other women who have lived in the Fiercombe valley . . .

Review by Publisher Summary 5

In this haunting and richly imagined dual-narrative tale that echoes the eerie mystery of Rebecca and The Little Stranger, two women of very different eras are united by the secrets hidden within the walls of an English manor house.In 1933, naive twenty-two year-old Alice—pregnant and unmarried—is in disgrace. Her mother banishes her from London to secluded Fiercombe Manor in rural Gloucestershire, where she can hide under the watchful eye of her mother’s old friend, the housekeeper Mrs. Jelphs. The manor’s owners, the Stantons, live abroad, and with her cover story of a recently-deceased husband Alice can have her baby there before giving it up for adoption and returning home. But as Alice endures the long, hot summer at Fiercombe awaiting the baby’s birth, she senses that something is amiss with the house and its absentee owners.Thirty years earlier, pregnant Lady Elizabeth Stanton desperately hopes for the heir her husband desires. Tormented by the memory of what happened after the birth of her first child, a daughter, she grows increasingly terrified that history will repeat itself, with devastating consequences.After meeting Tom, the young scion of the Stanton family, Alice becomes determined to uncover the clan’s tragic past and exorcise the ghosts of this idyllic, isolated house. But nothing can prepare Alice for what she uncovers. Soon it is her turn to fear: can she escape the tragic fate of the other women who have lived in the Fiercombe valley . . .