Teen Titans Earth one Earth one /

Jeff Lemire

Book - 2014

Saved in:

2nd Floor Comics Show me where

COMIC/Teen/Earth
vol. 1: 1 / 1 copies available
vol. 2: 1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
2nd Floor Comics COMIC/Teen/Earth v. 1 Checked In
2nd Floor Comics COMIC/Teen/Earth v. 2 Checked In
Series
Teen Titans
Subjects
Published
New York : DC Comics 2014-
Language
English
Item Description
Description based on volume 1.
Physical Description
volumes (unpaged) : color illustrations
ISBN
9781401245566
9781401259082
9781401259068
9781401271534
Main Author
Jeff Lemire (author)
Other Authors
Terry Dodson (artist)
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Rather than more minor tinkering with the teenaged super-hero team, this graphic novel is a full-scale reboot: what if, in an alternative world, circumstances brought together young people who echo the regular Teen Titans but are totally different people? High school student Victor Stone, for example, finds that parts of his body are turning to metal, so that he becomes a cyborg — but not the familiar Cyborg! This new character is one of a group of kids who have special powers because they were created as experiments by nefarious (adult) scientists, using technology from an alien space ship that crashed decades ago. The insensitive adults also have imprisoned a surviving alien child — Starfire. Lemire's (Essex County) script exploits teen angst efficiently and with some fresh imagination, while the Dodsons (Wonder Woman) produce lovely art, especially in panels showing Navajo seer Raven. If it's all a formula— brave teens vs evil adults — it's still one that works for the new readers this is aimed at. (Dec.) [Page ]. Copyright 2014 PWxyz LLC

Review by PW Annex Reviews

Rather than more minor tinkering with the teenaged super-hero team, this graphic novel is a full-scale reboot: what if, in an alternative world, circumstances brought together young people who echo the regular Teen Titans but are totally different people? High school student Victor Stone, for example, finds that parts of his body are turning to metal, so that he becomes a cyborg — but not the familiar Cyborg! This new character is one of a group of kids who have special powers because they were created as experiments by nefarious (adult) scientists, using technology from an alien space ship that crashed decades ago. The insensitive adults also have imprisoned a surviving alien child — Starfire. Lemire's (Essex County) script exploits teen angst efficiently and with some fresh imagination, while the Dodsons (Wonder Woman) produce lovely art, especially in panels showing Navajo seer Raven. If it's all a formula— brave teens vs evil adults — it's still one that works for the new readers this is aimed at. (Dec.) [Page ]. Copyright 2014 PWxyz LLC

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 10 Up—In this reboot of the DC Comics series, readers learn the origins of the Titans as reimagined for a new DC universe called Earth One. Four teens living seemingly normal lives in suburban Oregon have their worlds turned upside down when super powers are thrust upon them. They quickly realize that they are experiencing similar visions that seem to be related to their new powers. The young people ban together to uncover the secret behind these visions and new abilities. Little do they know that this secret will change not only their lives but the entire course of human history. This revamp of Teen Titans will appeal to avid comic book fans and readers new to the genre, making it an excellent addition to any library's graphic novel collection. Readers who have enjoyed other "Earth One" titles such as Batman and Superman, will surely enjoy this volume. It is also an excellent introduction to the those who are unfamiliar with comics and this franchise. The illustrations are vibrant and detailed. On each page, there are visual allusions to the secret which haunts each of the protagonists. The text and art will keep readers guessing until the very end. This first installment is an excellent opener to a promising graphic novel series. It does contain violence, alcohol use, and minor sexual situations, making it appropriate for older teens.—Annalise Ammer, City of Rochester Public Libraries, NY [Page 118]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"A new original graphic novel in DC's popular "Earth One" series, TEEN TITANS: EARTH ONE follows in the tradition of SUPERMAN: EARTH ONE and BATMAN: EARTH ONE, both of which were #1 New York Times bestsellers. The Teen Titans never felt like normal kids... but they had no idea how right they were. Their seemingly idyllic Oregon upbringing hides a secret -- one that will bring killers, shamans, and extraterrestrials down on their heads, and force them into an alliance that could shake the planet to its foundations!"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A group of normal kids have their seemingly idyllic Oregon lives altered forever when they each develop special abilities and discover that their parents are not who they appear to be.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A new original graphic novel in DC's popular "Earth One" series, TEEN TITANS: EARTH ONE follows in the tradition of SUPERMAN: EARTH ONE and BATMAN: EARTH ONE, both of which were #1 New York Times bestsellers. The Teen Titans never felt like normal kids... but they had no idea how right they were. Their seemingly idyllic Oregon upbringing hides a secret -- one that will bring killers, shamans, and extraterrestrials down on their heads, and force them into an alliance that could shake the planet to its foundations! Superstars Jeff Lemire (ANIMAL MAN, GREEN ARROW) and Terry Dodson (WONDER WOMAN) reinvent DC's youngest heroes, with an all-new mythos in an all-new world!