Daughter of the God-King

Anne Cleeland

Book - 2013

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Cleeland Anne
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Cleeland Anne Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Mystery fiction
Regency fiction
Published
Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Landmark [2013]
Language
English
Physical Description
360 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9781402279850
140227985X
Main Author
Anne Cleeland (-)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

Miss Hattie Blackhouse has lived most of her 18 years in the dull Cornish countryside, and she's determined to break free of her confinement in traditional Regency style: she'll marry. Arriving in Paris in search of her likeliest candidate, childhood friend Robbie Tremaine, Hattie is surprised to find herself with a growing number of suitors, all of whom are as interested in her scholarly parents' recent discovery of the God-King Daughter's tomb in Egypt as they are in wooing her. Finally told her parents have been missing for months, Hattie sets sail for Egypt with her companion Miss Bing, and a few mysterious suitors, to dig up her own answers. VERDICT With a large array of shady characters and red herrings for misdirection, this mystery will keep readers happily guessing until the end. But it's Hattie and her ability to be equally observant and naive that will have them hoping this might be the start of an appealing series. Fans of classic Agatha Christie, historical fiction, and light romance will all find something to enjoy in Cleeland's (Murder in Thrall; Tainted Angel) latest outing.—Stacey Hayman, Rocky River P.L., OH [Page 76]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Whether readers will enjoy this average romantic historical thriller from Cleeland (Murder in Thrall) set in the early 19th century may hinge on their reaction to heroine Hattie Blackhouse's response to witnessing a violent assault on a friend: "Well—this won't do." Cornwall native Blackhouse has traveled to Egypt from Paris after learning that her Egyptologist parents have been missing for three months. Their discovery of a lost tomb in the Valley of the Kings containing the remains of the "the god-king's daughter," seems to be at the root of the problem. Even those who do not find Hattie's interior monologue unrealistic must still get past this conventionally plotted adventure's ornate prose, in which we're told, for example, that a man "made quiet and efficient love to Hattie in the bottom of a wooden fishing boat while the crickets resonated and the eternal stars of Egypt burned overhead." Agent: Jane Dystel, Dystel & Goderich Literary Management. (Nov.) [Page ]. Copyright 2013 PWxyz LLC

Review by PW Annex Reviews

Whether readers will enjoy this average romantic historical thriller from Cleeland (Murder in Thrall) set in the early 19th century may hinge on their reaction to heroine Hattie Blackhouse's response to witnessing a violent assault on a friend: "Well—this won't do." Cornwall native Blackhouse has traveled to Egypt from Paris after learning that her Egyptologist parents have been missing for three months. Their discovery of a lost tomb in the Valley of the Kings containing the remains of the "the god-king's daughter," seems to be at the root of the problem. Even those who do not find Hattie's interior monologue unrealistic must still get past this conventionally plotted adventure's ornate prose, in which we're told, for example, that a man "made quiet and efficient love to Hattie in the bottom of a wooden fishing boat while the crickets resonated and the eternal stars of Egypt burned overhead." Agent: Jane Dystel, Dystel & Goderich Literary Management. (Nov.) [Page ]. Copyright 2013 PWxyz LLC

Review by Publisher Summary 1

When her parents go missing while excavating ancient tombs in Egypt, Hattie Blackhouse leaves England to track down her parents and discover why the people associated with them are turning up dead.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"Fans of Elizabeth Peters and Tracy Grant will find Cleeland's espionage thriller their cup of tea."—RT Book ReviewsThe Cursed Tombs of Egypt Hold Many Secrets... Miss Hattie Blackhouse has never been close to her parents...and no wonder, since the Blackhouses are renowned scholars who spend most of their time excavating ancient tombs in Egypt. But news of their disappearance forces Hattie to leave England and embark on a voyage that will reveal the long-buried secrets of her past. An encrypted senet board and a gold medallion lead Hattie on a perilous quest to track down her missing parents—and discover why people associated with the Blackhouses continue to turn up dead. What she uncovers is a secret that could alter the course of history...Filled with intrigue, romance, and ancient secrets, Anne Cleeland's thrilling novel takes you on an unforgettable Egyptian adventure.Praise for Anne Cleeland's Tainted Angel:"Espionage and steamy passion—Regency style—burning up the pages from chapter one."—Raine Miller, New York Times bestselling author"An exhilarating Napoleonic adventure in which no one is what they seem, including the intrepid hero and heroine. My kind of book!"—Teresa Grant, author of The Paris Affair

Review by Publisher Summary 3

In the dark, mysterious tombs of Cairo, a thrilling puzzle awaits to be discovered Hattie Blackhouse is the daughter of famous Egyptologists who've gone missing at their latest dig site in Thebes. When Hattie arrives to investigate, it becomes clear that something is definitely amiss in the tombs of Cairo. Here, Hattie discovers the tracks of a double agent, working for Napoleon, with secrets buried deeper than the Pharoahs. In a foreign place, where friends can just as easily be enemies, Hattie must find a way to pull the pieces back together—including herself. In the tradition of Lauren Willig and Deanna Raybourn, Daughter of the God-King offers up an engaging, intricate puzzle.