Tier One Wild A Delta Force novel

Dalton Fury

Book - 2012

"New York Times bestselling author and former Delta Force commander Dalton Fury (Black Site and Kill Bin Laden) is back with an explosive new thriller Former disgraced Delta Force commander Kolt "Racer" Raynor has earned his way back into The Unit after redeeming himself during an explosive operation at a black site in Pakistan. But he is about to face his deadliest challenge yet. The most wanted man in the world, American al Qaeda commander Daoud al Amriki, and his handpicked tea...m of terrorist operatives, have acquired stores of Russian-built, shoulder-fired surface-to-air missiles (SAM's) from ex-Libyan spies in Cairo. Their mission: infiltrate the United States and take down American aircraft. The country's best are tasked with stopping them. But when a SEAL Team Six mission to take down al Amriki goes wrong, Major Raynor and his Delta Force team find themselves front and center as Amriki and his terrorists work their way closer to America. And time is running out.Dramatic and revealing, Tier One Wild takes readers on an international thrill ride from the black ops nerve center of JSOC to the bloody streets of Cairo in a story only a former Delta Force commander could tell. "--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Fury Dalton
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Fury Dalton Checked In
Subjects
Genres
War stories
Published
New York : St. Martin's Press 2012.
Edition
1st ed
Language
English
Physical Description
ix, 338 p. ; 25 cm
ISBN
9780312668389
0312668384
Main Author
Dalton Fury (-)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Kolt Raynor wants to get back into the good graces of Delta Force, even if it kills him. His bad decision on an earlier case caused deaths and his ejection from the unit. Now a terrorist has purchased missiles, and, after a test run shooting down a plane over Europe, he has set his sights on the U.S. Raynor has to work with former teammates who don't trust him, and with newcomers who might be too raw to rely on. And the clock is ticking. Author Fury is a Delta Force alum, so he knows what's he talking about and how to give his narrative a sense of authenticity. Raynor comes across as unlikable in the beginning, but as the story progresses, he becomes a hero worth rooting for. The relentless action and the scary scenario make this a quality read for fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor. Copyright 2012 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

The senior ranking military officer at the Battle of Tora Bora, Fury had a nonfiction best seller with Kill bin Laden; Black Site, his just-published fiction debut, is being embraced by fans. Here, after a SEAL Team Six mission fails to eliminate a terrorist group shepherded by American al-Qaeda commander Daoud al Amriki, Black Site's Kolt Raynor is called to the task. [Page 51]. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Fury has impressive credentials for writing about a frantic effort to ward off a terrorist mega-attack, having served as the senior ranking military officer at the Battle of Tora Bora and helped plan the operation that took out Bin Laden. Nevertheless, his fast-paced second Delta Force novel starring Kolt "Racer" Raynor (after 2012's Black Site) reads like countless other post-9/11 fictional accounts of maverick covert U.S. operatives. In the dramatic opening, Raynor and his team attempt a daring hostage rescue from a hijacked plane set to take off from New Delhi. After the dust settles from that operation, his focus turns to al-Qaeda leader Daoud al-Amriki, recently identified as American renegade David Wade Doyle, who has just closed on the purchase of 60 antiaircraft missiles. While, unsurprisingly, nothing rings false, readers won't necessarily feel as if they're experiencing exactly what the real Delta Force does. Agent: Scott Miller, Trident Media Group. (Oct.) [Page ]. Copyright 2012 PWxyz LLC

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Former disgraced Delta Force commander Kolt "Racer" Raynor tackles the most dangerous mission of his career when an American al Qaeda commander organizes a terrorist team and amasses stores of deadly weapons with the intent of shooting down American aircraft.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Former disgraced Delta Force commander Kolt "Racer" Raynor tackles the most dangerous mission of his career when an American al Qaeda commander organizes a terrorist team and amasses stores of deadly weapons with the intent of shooting down American aircraft. By the best-selling author of Kill Bin Laden. 125,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

New York Times bestselling author and former Delta Force commander Dalton Fury (Black Site andKill Bin Laden) is back with an explosive new thrillerFormer disgraced Delta Force commander Kolt "Racer" Raynor has earned his way back into The Unit after redeeming himself during an explosive operation at a black site in Pakistan. But he is about to face his deadliest challenge yet.The most wanted man in the world, American al Qaeda commander Daoud al Amriki, and his handpicked team of terrorist operatives, have acquired stores of Russian-built, shoulder-fired surface-to-air missiles (SAM's) from ex-Libyan spies in Cairo. Their mission: infiltrate the United States and take down American aircraft. The country's best are tasked with stopping them. But when a SEAL Team Six mission to take down al Amriki goes wrong, Major Raynor and his Delta Force team find themselves front and center as Amriki and his terrorists work their way closer to America. And time is running out.Dramatic and revealing, Tier One Wild takes readers on an international thrill ride from the black ops nerve center of JSOC to the bloody streets of Cairo in a story only a former Delta Force commander could tell.