1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Robinson, Peter
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Robinson, Peter Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Robinson, Peter Checked In
Subjects
Published
New York : Avon Twilight 2000, c1989.
Language
English
Item Description
Originally published: 1989.
"An Inspector Banks mystery."
Physical Description
340 p. ; 18 cm
ISBN
9780380719464
0380719460
Main Author
Peter Robinson, 1950- (-)
Review by Publisher Summary 1

When a peaceful demonstration in the palatial Yorkshire village of Eastvale ends in mass arrests and the death of a constable, Chief Inspector Alan Banks is determined to prevent further bloodshed. Reprint.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Chief Inspector Alan Banks is confronted with a baffling murder mystery when a young police constable is stabbed to death at an antinuclear demonstration attended by hundreds of people

Review by Publisher Summary 3

In the tradition of Ian Rankin and Elizabeth George, this masterful novel of suspense&;from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson&;spins a story of professional jealousy that could result in more than one murder.A peaceful demonstration in the normally quiet town of Eastvale ends with fifty arrests&;and the brutal stabbing death of a young constable. But Chief Inspector Alan Banks fears there is worse violence in the offing. For CID Superintendent Richard Burgess has arrived from London to take charge of the investigation, fueled by professional outrage and volatile, long-simmering hatreds.Almost immediately, Burgess descends with vengeful fury upon the members of a sixties-style commune&;while Banks sifts through the rich Yorkshire soil around him, turning over the earthy, unsettling secrets of seemingly placid local lives. Crossing Burgess could cost the Chief Inspector his career. But the killing of a flawed Eastvale policeman is not the only murder that needs to be solved here. And if Banks doesn't unmask the true assassin, his superior's misguided obsession might well result in further bloodshed.Peter Robinson once again explores the human psyche in a novel that demonstrates how our weaknesses can lead to deadly consequences.